Stage Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
165 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Top Heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of volunteer opportunities to help out the community. Co-workers are great.

    Cons

    Corporate red tape resulting in slow and indecisive decision making. No clear direction from the top levels. Top heavy company where it seems like we're constantly get an emails about someone being promoted to another VP or higher position. They promote open work spaces to encourage communication and teamwork, however, the C levels officers are on the top floor ivory tower, in their private offices. No work... stability - employees are constantly working in fear of being laid off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need more effort in recognizing and keeping the employees who are in the trenches working hard everyday. Quite patting yourselves on the back when the company is moving in the wrong direction.

    Stage Stores2019-07-16
  2. "Great Company with Quick Desicions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get work environment and team members

    Cons

    They make last minute changes without thinking through all the logistics.

    Stage Stores2019-07-01
  3. "Group Manager Finance Accounting for distribution centers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores

    Pros

    Good challenge, great people, great working environment, variety of projects, fast paced

    Cons

    Some very long hours needed

    Advice to Management

    More Work home life balance for the salaried associates

    Stage Stores2019-06-30
  4. "I liked it my managers made the experience undesirable but other than that it was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estée Lauder Beauty Advisor in Ruston, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working behind the counter we got gratis every quarter

    Cons

    Some of the customers, but that’s just retail in general. No room to grow in management

    Stage Stores2019-06-30
  5. "Ok Job for school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Natchitoches, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Will give you overtime.

    Cons

    WILL GIVE YOU OVERTIME.

    Advice to Management

    Salary Update

    Stage Stores2019-06-26
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Gives back to community Great mentors

    Cons

    Didn’t see my career grow as I expected

    Advice to Management

    Wish they would recognize the talent of their employees and give them opportunities to grow.

    Stage Stores2019-06-22
  7. "Great job to start with in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours aren't bad District managers are involved Stores help each other out

    Cons

    Low pay High employee turnover due to the low pay

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize your management team to stay with higher pay. I would still be there today if it weren't for the low pay and staff shortage.

    Stage Stores2019-06-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It Is What It Is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ECommerce Copywriter in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The 9/80 schedule and the 20% employee discount

    Cons

    Management is awful on this particular team/department. Ideas aren't encouraged to be expressed, and if we do try to express them, we're talked down to or dismissed. You also don't feel like you're part of the overall company and company goals. Upper management doesn't quite know what we do and question us if they feel like the work isn't quite as "productive" rather than seeing what's happening and why it's... happening. There's no room for promotions on this team -- at all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to consider your team's situation, if you feel like productivity isn't as high as it could/should be. Allow your teams to express their ideas freely and to feel like they're part of the team/company. Don't reprimand them, look down on them, dismiss them if they have something to say. It could be valuable.

    Stage Stores2019-06-24
  9. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros. Only cons

    Cons

    You get minimum wage but the company doesn't pay you everything or scams you. Drama filled workplace with little girls. Management is terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Just close the store. Not worth it.

    Stage Stores2019-07-10
  10. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estée Lauder Beauty Advisor in Winchester, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthcare benefits and guaranteed hours

    Cons

    terrible communication between corporate and store, drama in workplace

    Advice to Management

    respect each other

    Stage Stores2019-07-05
Found 437 reviews