Stage Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
165 Ratings
  1. "Great company but concerned for company future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great experience with managers and personal growth

    Cons

    Company high debt, struggling for profitability, competing against online growth and struggling malls

    Stage Stores2019-03-06
  2. "Great job if you have other income. You have to really push credit cards to make a decent check."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Decatur, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great customer relationships, 20% employee discount, when you are getting new accounts bonus commission adds up

    Cons

    One of the lowest paying companies, always short handed & company continues to cut hours with very unreasonable workload expectations. The schedules available Thursday night for the following week, so it’s hard to make plans or schedule appointments.

    Advice to Management

    Be kind to the employees, they aren’t paid well

    Stage Stores2019-03-20
  3. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Slidell, LA

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment Allows you to eat and drink food

    Cons

    Little pay Mean older customers Lazy upper management

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive

    Stage Stores2019-03-13
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New Iberia, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, fun atmosphere, nice co workers

    Cons

    Need to work more hours

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees more hours!

    Stage Stores2019-02-16
  5. "Very easy going job, patience is the key."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Stage Stores

    Pros

    Great customer service experience, you have an opportunity to make more money the harder you work.

    Cons

    Undependable leadership/ management was the main issue I saw while employed there.

    Advice to Management

    Evolve.

    Stage Stores2019-02-10
  6. "A good company, Computers need updating. HQ needs to have real life knowledge about their stores."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time

    Pros

    20% discount and also coupons Management is very nice Somewhat easy if you have experience in retail. If not, you may feel overwhelmed by high volume of customers.

    Cons

    Bi weekly pay and low hours... having co workers who are minors (they don’t take the job seriously!!)

    Advice to Management

    Consider raising the minimum age you hire to 18. Possibly raise the minimum pay? Oh

    Stage Stores2019-02-04
  7. "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can be a fun place to work at times

    Cons

    The cutbacks on payroll will make you feel like you live there. The new programs they roll out are terrible and it takes forever to work out the bugs. And equipment is old and outdated.

    Stage Stores2019-01-29
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time

    Pros

    Transitioning into the new world.

    Cons

    Retail is just plain difficult these days.

    Stage Stores2019-01-27
  9. "My manager kept giving me 4 hour shifts, when I lived 30 minutes away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Jasper, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, keeping up with the latest trends

    Cons

    Poor management, crappy pay, have to meet quota for getting customers to apply for store credit card

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to make schedule that's fair to the whole staff, & don't leave your job for the assistant managers to do.

    Stage Stores2018-12-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Store manager. Good place to work but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Lebanon, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great PTO structure, usually a good work/ life balance, company is responsive to employees needs, as a store manager you have a certain amount of autonomy in decision making.

    Cons

    The pay is the lowest in the industry. It makes it difficult to retain employees. They offer insurance but I can't afford it. I can't make ends meet as a store manager. Older stores need remodeling because things are always falling apart. Small stores get left behind when money is allocated for remodeling. Magazine sales need to not be penalized for not making goal. Customers feel like it's a scam.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees. The company is nothing without us and we deserve to be paid a competitive wage. I love working at Stage but I'm looking for a different job because I can't afford to work here. Keep up the voices surveys and listening to employees. Also... payroll needs to be more January through September so that our keyholders don't quit over low hours.

    Stage Stores2018-12-13
Found 437 reviews