Stage Stores Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Supervisor Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Houma, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent customer service, friendly staff, friendly customers, all in all great store.

    Cons

    Never enough hours in the day for all the work that needs to be done. More money and more hours.

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours out the day and hire more people. More pay would be nice as well.

    Stage Stores2014-02-24
  2. "No human resources contact information"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Princeton, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to home Love working with customers Kind and knowledgeable store manager

    Cons

    Nepotism, bullying, harrassment, sabotage, not even given a chance to do one's job much less be successful

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a name and number to call when another employees actions are threatening and disruptive to the point it causes them to have to resign. When after having an internal meeting with the store managers the problem only escalates.

    Stage Stores2019-01-11
  3. "Supervisor for three years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chickasha, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stage Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s a fairly easy job where you’ll make some good friends. I didn’t mind putting out freight or folding clothes.

    Cons

    They make you stay late after your shift to clean the store, we had to clean the bathrooms, the manager was insane, the customers were rude old ladies and the dress code sucked

    Advice to Management

    Don’t expect to have great workers that aren’t kids when you pay terribly.

    Stage Stores2018-04-22
  4. "Stage Stores Supervisor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount as well as offered benefits and work environment.

    Cons

    Not enough allotted work hours for all associates. Also over the edge about magazine and credit applications as well.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the words of advice from your employees within stores.

    Stage Stores2018-01-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Clinton, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Easy work Easy to learn

    Cons

    Low pay High demand to push merchandise and credit cards

    Advice to Management

    Work with stores to update their appearance. Many stores that I've visited (as well as the one I worked at) have a very poor appearance. It makes a terrible impression on customers.

    Stage Stores2017-11-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work Most of the Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Morrisville, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Coworkers Good hours for full time employees Employee Discount Long lunch breaks Commission for selling credit cards and magazines and tuxedos

    Cons

    Low Pay Long Holiday hours Pushed to sign customers up for credit cards or hours get cut Coworkers and staff don’t always pull their weight or do their jobs correctly and efficiently and others often have to do it for them so it can be very stressful Store gets messy and hard to keep organized and clean

    Advice to Management

    Set firmer rules regarding employees doing their jobs correctly and proficiently as well as managers

    Stage Stores2017-11-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible, typical retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Hobbs, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time

    Pros

    Awful pay. Super high turn over. Worked doubles like crazy. No room for advancement. Benefits were ugh. Just terrible.

    Cons

    Opened on Thanksgiving. Super low pay. Long hours. High turn over. No room for advancement. Terrible managers.

    Advice to Management

    Pay better so you can keep employees. And promote people that have worked in the store to manager. Thet know their store better than some outside person

    Stage Stores2016-09-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "tried something new"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in Houma, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores for less than a year

    Pros

    employee discounts, having first look at what came into the store, meeting & helping new people everyday, close to home, worked with me with my daughter

    Cons

    Never had time off, was always the only one that would call to go into work, co-workers with ugly attitude, leave work behind for others to do, and Store Manager didn't know her job & played favorites

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you have someone who knows what they are doing when it comes to running a store and employee's. Make your employee feel safe in and out of the store...

    Stage Stores2016-05-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Okay-ish job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice discount and convenient location. It's awesome that you can use coupons in addition to using the employee discount. I was fortunate to be able to work with people who mostly respected me.

    Cons

    No work/life balance No employee appreciation I was a part time supervisor and because I was so much younger than most, I wasn't respected or listened to. I was often called in early and had to work long crazy hours. Another thing is that you constantly have to push people to get credit cards. Yes it is part of your job but for district and regional managers to be calling every 2 hours for updates is unprofessional.... You can not force people to get the credit cards or magazines.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What works for one store may not work for another store. More employees need to be closing the store every night because it's never just closing. Mark downs have to be done, sales audit has to be done and all of the other daily tasks, like checking out, putting out freight and constant checking fitting rooms and fixing the floor. Begging people to get Stage cards and magazines is very unprofessional. If someone... says no, they don't want it for a reason. Lots of people have had horrible experiences with the magazines so they never want to do it again. Most of our customers already have Stage cards so you can't do anything about that.

    Show More
    Stage Stores2016-03-09
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Too Demanding for Rate of pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in Bastrop, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores for more than a year

    Pros

    Small and tidy store, you became friends with everyone.

    Cons

    They messed up with all Benefits and not professional and very demanding for the rate of pay. You have to make sure you make a percentage of sales, credit card applications, club 50, and magazine while also keeping your area clean. If you don't get you percentage you will be written up and fired after your 3rd write up. While also being short on staff.

    Stage Stores2015-05-19
Found 14 reviews