Stanford University "cost of living" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stanford University Employee Reviews about "cost of living"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Stanford University CEO Marc Tessier-Lavigne
Marc Tessier-Lavigne
322 Ratings
Pros
  • "Intellectually stimulating, collaborative environment, beautiful campus(in 202 reviews)

  • "Work life balance has been a very important factor for all(in 154 reviews)

Cons
  • "The cost of living in the surrounding area(in 151 reviews)

  • "Average compensation (especially for the Bay Area)(in 99 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cost of living"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best postdoc program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I have been working at Stanford University full-time

    Pros

    Highly rated post doctoral program

    Cons

    Housing and living cost is expensive

    Stanford University2019-12-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Staff @ Stanford University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stanford University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits: health insurance coverage, PTO, freebies, free events, access to gyms & campus resources, health program incentives, professional development $ and opportunities, working with great people.

    Cons

    Extremely expensive cost of living in the Stanford area. Pay for staff does not meet the cost of living for the area. Sometimes having to navigate fragile egos & other expected conditions that come with an elite University.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay for staff. Affordable housing options for staff. Performance reviews shouldn't just be top-down. Staff should have the opportunity to anonymously evaluate their managers.

    Stanford University2019-11-30
  3. "Lots of resources and opportunities beyond your field/research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stanford University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of resources available (e.g., career center, facilities for instruments), easy to work across departments, access to School of Medicine, business school, institute of design

    Cons

    cost of living in the area is high

    Stanford University2019-10-03
  4. "Great place for intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Lab Intern 

    I worked at Stanford University

    Pros

    Great mentors. Great weather (both physical and in the lab).

    Cons

    Cost of living. Try to find affordable housing near biking distance.

    Stanford University2019-09-22
  5. "Big name on resume, bare minimum compensation and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Research Assistant in Stanford, CA

    I worked at Stanford University for less than a year

    Pros

    It's Stanford. The campus is big and there are lots of resources for your research needs

    Cons

    Stanford does not compensate well considering the cost of living in the area

    Stanford University2019-09-17
  6. "Stanford University is a great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stanford University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -The people -The perks -The work is fulfilling -The opportunities for professional growth

    Cons

    -The cost of living in the surrounding area

    Stanford University2019-09-02
  7. "Deserves its reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at Stanford University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World class experts who are generally accessible

    Cons

    Cost of living in Silicon Valley

    Stanford University2019-08-22
  8. "Great benefits, great room for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stanford University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free gym access Health programs & incentives Free public transportation

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy Everyone commutes from quite far High cost of living locally

    Stanford University2019-08-07
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stanford University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff community and excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Expensive cost of living, can be a stressful work environment.

    Stanford University2019-07-16
  10. "Not worth the risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stanford University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job description was most promising as is the leading edge research. The position offered great opportunity for career development. Most of the people worked hard and were pleasant.

    Cons

    Benefits may be good for the area, but the cost of living in the area is excessive and not affordable. Vacation allotted monthly, not per paycheck. Onboarding was handing me a copy of my job description and showing me where my office was. Manager did not walk through training requirements and performance goal setting was non-existent. Was repeatedly told that I should know what my job was because I was a... manager, even though the job being performed was not reflective of my job description. Pressure cooker work environment where others generally take credit for work of others. Exceptions often made to accommodate research.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Embrace experience of new staff. When you tell someone that they were hired to bring a new perspective and new ideas, don't tell them to just observe. Actively engage them.

    Stanford University2019-07-18
Found 151 reviews