Stanley Black & Decker Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Stanley Black & Decker President and CEO James M. Loree
James M. Loree
278 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No real reward for hard work while overworking employees impacting their work life balance(in 57 reviews)

  • "Short windows for upper management before moving on(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Glad I'm Here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing and Communications in New Britain, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Stanley Black & Decker about six months ago after being with my former employer for 13+ years. I am not good with change and was hesitant about making a move - yet alone a move outside of my industry and comfort zone. Since I've been here, I can honestly say I've met some of the most warm, friendly, smart and kind people in my 20+ year career. They welcomed me and have made the transition an easy one. For the first time in a long time, I also have full accountability, autonomy and trust with the work I'm leading and feel empowered to make quick decisions and pivot when necessary. I also am very grateful to be working in a CPG company that's GLOBAL.

    Cons

    As with any new company, learning the internal structure and building a network feels daunting at first. But having supportive co-workers to guide me along the way has been helpful.

    Continue reading
    Stanley Black & Decker2020-01-28
  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Laid off due to covid19 situation

    Stanley Black & Decker2020-04-27
  3. "Stanley Black and Decker Craftsman Tenure"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Jackson, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive cutting edge Technology Innovations

    Cons

    Limited Advancements, favoritism by management in who advances in the company

    Continue reading
    Stanley Black & Decker2020-05-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good option as an employer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time

    Pros

    Great brands and well perceived company.

    Cons

    Constant unrealistic pressure, no budgets, toxic back stabbing environment, only care for top level people, lies.

    Continue reading
    Stanley Black & Decker2020-05-20
  5. "Great Company and great brands constant change and organization shifts"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Strategist in Towson, MD

    I have been working at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great brands and decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    constant change and organizational instability

    Continue reading
    Stanley Black & Decker2020-05-20
  6. "Beware"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Fontana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of OT. Plenty of ways to prove yourself.

    Cons

    Management plays favorites. They say what you want to hear, but then do another thing entirely. Hard workers are not rewarded.

    Continue reading
    Stanley Black & Decker2020-05-18
  7. "Good Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very innovative and fast-paced company

    Cons

    It is having a difficult time to engage employees after a series of terminations / lay-offs of exceptional workers

    Stanley Black & Decker2020-05-01
  8. "Its a job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNC Machinist/Programmer in Ooltewah, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I get a paycheck every week.

    Cons

    I don't get to sit in a recliner and watch Baywatch

    Stanley Black & Decker2020-04-24
  9. "Good company to work for, learned a lot"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst 

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for, learned a lot

    Cons

    Try promote employees from within .

    Stanley Black & Decker2020-04-23
  10. "Awesome!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stanley Black & Decker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you get to work with are amazing, very helpful.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Stanley Black & Decker2020-04-16
Found 1106 reviews