Stantec Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Stantec Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Stantec President and CEO Gord Johnston
Gord Johnston
28 Ratings
  1. "Good and modern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, office set up , staff

    Cons

    Parking situation. Too many smaller projects not enough larger ones

    Continue reading
    Stantec2019-12-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work and beautiful new office overlooking the Wasatch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, casual place to work knowing the business of consulting which comes with pressure. Teams here are great and inspire me to do great work for our clients. Good equipment, stand-up and sit-down desks

    Cons

    Need to have more people developing work!

    Continue reading
    Stantec2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Talk the talk, but really don't walk the walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Stantec full-time

    Pros

    Large Firm Could be working on a prominent project in the region

    Cons

    Stantec's values are we put people first, but in reality, the benefits continue to be cut. The response to employee burn out from management was we wish you could go above and beyond by working even more hours since we are so busy. We do what makes money. Hours are long and the salary is not directly tied to performance. Junior engineers are poorly trained.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2019-12-20
  4. "Good company overall with some pitfalls consistent with a large company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits, good culture overall depending on office and manager. You can work on anything from small projects to mega projects and many recognizable, challenging, interesting projects.

    Cons

    Promotion structure undefined for junior and intermediate level employees. Sometimes Feels like several companies under one roof instead of a single company. Business units often don’t communicate or share resources.

    Stantec2019-12-05
  5. "Over worked and severely under paid. Terrible management at the time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in North Charleston, SC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Coworkers helped create a better environment

    Cons

    Overall operations management was terrible

    Stantec2019-12-30
  6. "A Good Company to Start Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geological Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    exposure to projects of national and international significance; Professionals with excellent talents to mentor; exciting opportunities to work in the field and office; good benefits

    Cons

    Not really any; a bit bureaucratic at times but can be handled.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2019-11-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unsustainable Management Practices and Profit Driven Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geotechnical Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stantec provides ample opportunities to work on complex, challenging, and mentally engaging projects. Depending on the discipline, you can work with world class experts with many years of experience in the industry, creating a great learning environment. They also have a very impressive focus on safety.

    Cons

    The culture at Stantec has deteriorated over the last few years to become a truly dismal work environment. Upper management decisions tend to focus completely on growth and profit, as expected for any business, but without any balance towards employee well-being or work/life balance. Salaries are on the low end of the bell curve for many disciplines. There is also a suffocating amount of training, corporate branding, and overall useless content created by the company that detrimentally effect the daily work life. Finally, be prepared to brown-nose middle management. Good work products and going at lengths to stay billable are not enough, if you're not working 50+ hours a week (hourly or salaried) and rubbing shoulders with higher ups, you are regarded as a second-class employee.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2019-11-18
  8. "Good Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, Friendly environment, Approachable team.

    Cons

    Not challenging work and projects are long.

    Stantec2019-11-15
  9. "Overall Best Place to be for Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bridge Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Enjoyable environment. Excellent coworkers who are both hardworking and fun. - Open minded management. I cannot speak for other departments, but the supervisors in the Structures Department will listen to your needs and genuinely do their best to support you in career, education, work balance, and life balance. - Interesting Projects. There is always work to do!

    Cons

    - Intensity of projects comes in waves. Deadlines can be strict and stressful. Thankfully this shouldn't be the case 100% of the time. It might be for a few months at a time, or for a year at a time. This is likely inevitable anywhere - Working from home/having personal laptops is not a norm yet. But requesting to work from home with good reason is ok occasionally.

    Stantec2019-10-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "NYC Office - Spring & Summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Transportation Engineer, Civil in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec for less than a year

    Pros

    -The ability to work on more than one project. -Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. -Everyone is eager and willing to help interns learn. -Although CAD and MicroStation are used extensively, it is not a required skill to have before starting at Stantec in the NYC office as you learn while you work on projects. -Received a walkthrough of how my work directly affected the project and its importance. -Relatively young staff making communication easier. -Decent work hours. -Meetings with supervisors/"buddies" to talk about my progress. -Highly valued safety, ethics, and concerns of staff members.

    Cons

    -Did not get to participate with any meetings with the clients (mostly done through phone calls). -Only one microwave on the floor so heating up food took a while some times.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2019-09-19
Found 205 reviews