Stantec Engineering Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineering Intern

Stantec Engineering Intern Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stantec President and CEO Gord Johnston
Gord Johnston
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Engineering Intern 

    I have been working at Stantec

    Pros

    Great Internship experience that gives experience with ongoing project in several different areas.

    Cons

    There really aren't any cons. There is consistent work flow and people are always willing to help!

    Stantec2019-06-22
  2. "Good Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, Friendly environment, Approachable team.

    Cons

    Not challenging work and projects are long.

    Stantec2019-11-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer Intern 

    I worked at Stantec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, lots of different and interesting projects

    Cons

    Constant pressure to keep high utilization, I felt easily forgotten about and often told that there was no work for me when I would ask making utilization goals even more stressful

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget about new hires, don't offer work to one person "starting next week" and then hand it off to someone else

    Stantec2019-05-02
  4. "Good Company, Bad Timing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Civil Engineer Intern in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with an international company gives great opportunities to work on large scale projects that few will have the opportunity to see.

    Cons

    As with some large corporations housing thousands of employees you can get caught in the mix and just counted as a number. A personal experience is lacking when the engineer designated as a supervisor does not have interest in the intern.

    Advice to Management

    Advice for interns. Make sure you have a plan for your interns when you hire them so they can get some unique experience. This is especially true for a company that can provide so much perspective for the aspiring engineer.

    Stantec2017-03-13
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Environmental Engineering Intern in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Stantec for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good working environment in the engineering department - My supervisors were great and willing to mentor me

    Cons

    - Pay was a bit low - The other section of the office (Geologists mostly) were plagued by office drama and Project Managers that did not understand the time it takes to complete tasks

    Stantec2015-07-29
  6. "Great Internship Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Stantec for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture was very laid back. Even as an intern you are allowed to make your own schedule as long as you get your forty hours in. The managers are all very nice and easy to work with and were eager to help me learn.

    Cons

    I had a great experience at Stantec and have nothing bad to say.

    Stantec2015-05-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering Intern in Calgary, AB
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stantec for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work place. Incredible group pf people to work with.

    Cons

    Not really a con but I personally wish they had flexible hours and constant flex Fridays

    Stantec2019-03-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "EIT Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Lots of flexibility with working hours -Interesting projects and clients -Good team

    Cons

    -Compensation has room for improvement -Work life balance: Resources are fully utilized making it difficult to take any time off most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Place a larger emphasis on mentorship, training opportunities and streamlining career growth goals

    Stantec2018-11-03
  9. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, nice work environment

    Cons

    Average pay for the industry

    Stantec2016-11-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good support from management Forced career development review with management

    Cons

    Salary is low with little wiggle room

    Advice to Management

    Drop the no-alcohol policy!

    Stantec2016-10-18
Found 11 reviews