Stantec Mechanical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Mechanical Engineer

Create your profile to get personalized information

Stantec Mechanical Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stantec President and CEO Gord Johnston
Gord Johnston
3 Ratings
  1. "Large company, small and isolated offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, freedom, independence and solid employees

    Cons

    No oversight, no connection to other offices.

    Advice to Management

    Connect the many, many offices so they aren't competing for the same work

    Stantec2015-01-17
  2. "Good Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, Friendly environment, Approachable team.

    Cons

    Not challenging work and projects are long.

    Stantec2019-11-15
  3. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible wealth of knowledge and experience in our SME's. Exponential learning potential.

    Cons

    With such a large company based on growth by acquisition, it is hard to feel connected to the whole.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the organic growth percentage, investigate more ways to make employees feel connected to the Stantec identity.

    Stantec2018-07-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Do you enjoy short term thinking and many levels of bureaucracy?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has a large enough marketing machine to ability to bring in significant and interesting projects. And collaboration between offices, while in need of improvement, seemed to be increasing over time.

    Cons

    Being a large, publicly traded company always focused on keeping the stock price up every quarter, decisions are very top-down, and reflective of short term thinking. I felt it was not reasonable business model for a company providing professional services. The top down decisions most often seemed extremely out of touch, and often added additional layers of red tape that were a distraction and took time away from actually providing the professional services for which the company is paid.

    Show More
    Stantec2016-06-22
  5. "My co-op experience at Stantec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to dive right in and perform meaningful design tasks.

    Cons

    The work can be repetitive. My day-to-day involved working on commercial building systems and participating in site-evaluation visits.

    Advice to Management

    Put more emphasis on PD. I don’t feel compelled to come back for a second term.

    Stantec2019-12-27
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Get exposed to several industries

    Cons

    Due to Oil & Gas downturn, there was not so many projects

    Stantec2019-10-11
  7. "No experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Doha
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is good company and my dream to work here

    Cons

    Good working for our company

    Stantec2019-07-23
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Mechanical Engineer in High Wycombe, England

    I have been working at Stantec for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management. Lots of sports/activities. Good graduate community. Flexible company

    Cons

    Not a lot of training. Location is in a small town. Not much feedback

    Stantec2017-10-01
  9. "Large company; does not prioritize employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Mechanical Engineer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a global company with a moonshot chance of upward mobility. The qualityanagent system is good, and the coffee is free.

    Cons

    Management needs to rethink their strategy. Employees are not prioritized, so they become disillusioned, and the good employees move on.

    Advice to Management

    Put employees first. This is an employee and knowledge-driven industry, so bleeding out good talent due to poor management is extremely damaging.

    Stantec2017-09-07
  10. "Mechanical Engineer at MWH Dubai"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Dubai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very satisfying and highly knowledge gaining environment was available during my 2 years with MWH and I am truly happy that I had an opportunity to be a part of the MWH family.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity in Clientele leads to stagnation and redundancy of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Internal policies and professionalism of the company should not be affected by changes in management. An active feedback system may be helpful in this aspect.

    Stantec2017-07-27
Found 14 reviews