Stantec Reviews | Glassdoor

Stantec Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Stantec President and CEO Gord Johnston
Gord Johnston
155 Ratings
  1. "Good and modern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, office set up , staff

    Cons

    Parking situation. Too many smaller projects not enough larger ones

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Stantec2019-12-14
  2. "Great brand and office culture, but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Personally like the way Stantec brands itself; fair compensation package; generally strong office culture and morale; encouragement for professional growth through company/external programs; flexible work schedules and office locations. For non-marketing staff, it seems like a great place to work and grow.

    Cons

    As marketing, working with practitioners can be difficult, varying across business lines. It can feel like we (marketers) are not empowered or valued at times and are more admin staff than content contributors. Not entirely sure of what the career trajectory is, or how to evolve from the role. Someone referenced many corporate layers, and I agree with that- everything seems to come "down the chain" and the management structure is pretty unclear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clearly define a career path and promotion structure, especially for people starting their marketing career in this industry. Encourage the prioritization of Marketing/BD efforts to technical staff.

    Stantec2020-01-08
  3. "Project managers are truly terrible and have no regard for your health or safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Scientist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I cannot think of any for this company.

    Cons

    Projects managers give you less than 24 hours to complete large projects.Have absolutely no regard to work life balance. Run you into the ground. Guilt trip you into thinking you should be working 14 hours a day. Expectations are too high for people with lower pay grades and less experience. Expect you to work for free. Do not want pay you to do necessary training. Benefits keep decreasing. Expect you to work holidays and weekends.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you treat people like humans, they will want to impress you. Learn how to delineate time for work, and time for people to be people.

    Stantec2020-01-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work and beautiful new office overlooking the Wasatch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, casual place to work knowing the business of consulting which comes with pressure. Teams here are great and inspire me to do great work for our clients. Good equipment, stand-up and sit-down desks

    Cons

    Need to have more people developing work!

    Advice to Management

    Bring back a single location manager like we had we had before Stantec. We need one leader. We had a forward vision before.

    Stantec2019-12-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Talk the talk, but really don't walk the walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Stantec full-time

    Pros

    Large Firm Could be working on a prominent project in the region

    Cons

    Stantec's values are we put people first, but in reality, the benefits continue to be cut. The response to employee burn out from management was we wish you could go above and beyond by working even more hours since we are so busy. We do what makes money. Hours are long and the salary is not directly tied to performance. Junior engineers are poorly trained.

    Advice to Management

    Great engineers don't necessarily mean great managers. Stop the hypocrisy.

    Stantec2019-12-20
  6. "Good company overall with some pitfalls consistent with a large company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits, good culture overall depending on office and manager. You can work on anything from small projects to mega projects and many recognizable, challenging, interesting projects.

    Cons

    Promotion structure undefined for junior and intermediate level employees. Sometimes Feels like several companies under one roof instead of a single company. Business units often don’t communicate or share resources.

    Stantec2019-12-05
  7. "Over worked and severely under paid. Terrible management at the time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in North Charleston, SC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Coworkers helped create a better environment

    Cons

    Overall operations management was terrible

    Stantec2019-12-30
  8. "Stantec Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls and Instrumentation Engineer 

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large company, dominant in the water/wastewater industry. Opportunities to work share and move around different offices.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive with industry. Work/life balance practically non-existent.

    Stantec2019-12-06
  9. "Smart colleagues focused on community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Functional Service Team 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every office has its own unique culture - you can get involved easily. Ability to positively impact communities. Lots of smart people to learn from.

    Cons

    Too administrative & technology need to be updated. Need more training programs.

    Stantec2019-11-18
  10. "A Good Company to Start Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geological Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    exposure to projects of national and international significance; Professionals with excellent talents to mentor; exciting opportunities to work in the field and office; good benefits

    Cons

    Not really any; a bit bureaucratic at times but can be handled.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping winning impactful and exciting work

    Stantec2019-11-12
Found 1048 reviews