Star2Star Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Star2Star Communications Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Norman Worthington
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone at Star2Star is very welcoming and nice(in 14 reviews)

  • "2 daily to be used at on-site food trucks (must be used same day)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is not a Star2Star issue, but rather individuals(in 8 reviews)

  • "My only con at this juncture is the high turnover rate in certain key and essential positions(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The joy of Star2Star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Star2Star Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at Star2Star is very welcoming and nice.

    Cons

    The building is a bit of a maze.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Star2Star Communications2019-05-13
  2. "No overtime in Software Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Star2Star Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work habits. The Software Engineering department was always empty at 5pm, even though the company operates 24 hours a day. If you had late work scheduled (for example a deploy, which is after office hours) then you started late the next day. Some employees are remote.

    Cons

    Engineering under-staffed and under-appreciated. Sales gets the day-to-day focus.

    Advice to Management

    1) Document and get buy-in on requirements, early in the process. 2) Prevent brain drain.

    Star2Star Communications2019-05-15
  3. "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Star2Star Communications full-time

    Pros

    None nothing to look forward to

    Cons

    All nothing good at this place

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    Star2Star Communications2019-03-27
  4. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Star2Star Communications full-time

    Pros

    One of the few Telecommunications (software) companies in the Sarasota area. If you're a high achiever, there is opportunity for upward mobility.

    Cons

    Pay is average. Benefits aren't great, but decent.

    Star2Star Communications2018-12-12
  5. "Collaborative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Star2Star Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Star2Star is the best company I have worked for! The environment is collaborative and everyone is pleasant to work with. For being a larger company, we really do have that family run feeling. They provide lots of things for employees to help keep the departments intermingling and allowing for all employees to get to know each other. Work life balance is a huge plus!!!

    Cons

    Seems to me that folks get spoiled with all that Star2Star provides and then become complacent and begin to complain. This is not a Star2Star issue, but rather individuals.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize the things that are already in place to give extra kudos to employees that do well. Super Kudo/ Massage coupons/gift cards, etc. Take time to give employees reviews on a regular basis as this help with growth.

    Star2Star Communications2018-09-17
  6. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Star2Star Communications full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, the skies the limit.

    Cons

    Rules varied department to department as far as flexibility of schedule.

    Star2Star Communications2018-08-14
  7. "VOIP Support Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Tier I VOIP Support in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Star2Star Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly Staff -Great Learning Opportunities

    Cons

    I currently have no cons

    Star2Star Communications2018-07-30
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Do Yourself a Favor: Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Star2Star Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some great people there buried beneath miles of negativity.

    Cons

    During my first week, a coworker said, "If you make it a year, you'll probably be here for a while. But many people don't make it a year." The reason for this is simple: the culture is very toxic, and many of the senior managers would not even be project managers at any other company due to their unprofessional behavior and lack of experience. If you are talented, you can count on the fact that your work will be stolen...

    Show More
    Star2Star Communications2018-07-24
  9. "New to Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Star2Star Communications full-time

    Pros

    Just started and the interview to start process was very efficient and the communication during the process was very positive

    Cons

    No Cons at this time

    Star2Star Communications2018-06-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away from this company!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Development Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Star2Star Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some friendly co-workers, that is about it.

    Cons

    Where to begin? They have an incredibly high turnover rate. Virtually no support for remote employees and their training is extremely inadequate. I found out without any forewarning that I was being laid off and they are only providing me with 2 weeks of severance pay.

    Advice to Management

    Create a less hostile work environment and support your remote employees.

    Star2Star Communications2018-07-20
Found 108 reviews