Starbucks Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Starbucks Supervisor Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3049 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Starbucks CEO Kevin Johnson
Kevin Johnson
452 Ratings
  1. "Great community for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It feels that they truly want you develop and move higher in the company, free shift meal and beverage, tips, overtime pay

    Cons

    Erratic, sometimes long and overtime hours

    Starbucks2019-04-23
  2. "Starbucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    Working there when it’s busy is stressful and tedious

    Starbucks2019-07-17
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to pick your availability and the manager working with your schedule

    Cons

    Stressful environment when busy but that’s every job. Also district manager would contradict herself a lot

    Advice to Management

    Try to think of the partners more than the customers

    Starbucks2019-07-17
  4. "Never a dull moment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 

      I worked at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Loved getting to know regulars, getting really efficient at crafting amazing beverages and hanging out with all the great people that worked with me. Decent benefits.

      Cons

      Pay isn't great if you're trying to make a living. More of a passion project!

      Starbucks2019-07-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Fantastic first job with growth opportunities and benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Starbucks full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Starbucks really cares about their employees. They're the only company I know of that gives PTO, paid sick time, health, dental, and vision insurance, stock options, AND 401(k) to PART TIME EMPLOYEES. Nobody does that! If you are a young person looking for a job that will grow you up as a person and a professional, this place is it. Starbucks will make you into a great employee and will give you skills you can carry with...

      Show More

      Cons

      Your personal experience will depend largely upon your manager. I've had 4 managers in my time at Starbucks, and they each set the tone for the whole store. I've had micromanagers and managers who could stand to be a little more hands-on. My advice-- if you end up hating your manager for whatever reason, you can always transfer stores rather than quitting. God knows there's no shortage of Starbucks stores ! Sometimes,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      *Work on the hiring process. I get that this company attracts young people with little to no professional experience, but we still need people who can keep their cool and act like adults during work, as well as be a team player. This position is entry level, but it shouldn't be attracting people who aren't interested in contributing to the team or to the store environment. *Make it easier and less taboo to fire people....

      Show More
      Starbucks2019-07-10
    • "Wildly Harder Than Expected, Decent Pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Gainesville, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      worked mostly with great people, the free and discounted drinks were a wonderful perk (especially for night and overnight shifts),

      Cons

      hardest job I ever worked, the years I worked for a non-corporate store (Aramark) had much worse experience, pay, and benefits than I did when I worked at a corporatists store.

      Advice to Management

      Improve quality through contracts with non-corporate stores. Companies like Aramark work to devalue the Starbucks name and corporate culture.

      Starbucks2019-07-14
    • "Corporate Life"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Starbucks Shift Supervisor in Richmond, VA
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Starbucks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you like the people you work with, it's wonderful. I love my job and I love my coworkers at my current store. Customers can also make or break the job so if you get good, thoughtful regulars you'll enjoy work more. Schedules posted 3 weeks in advance which is better than most jobs that give you 1 week notice.

      Cons

      Pay is way too low for the amount of work we do. Business practices at Starbucks are sketchy. Management at the district and regional level can be seedy, usually promote store managers out of favoritism rather than talent which can really make employees miserable.

      Starbucks2019-07-12
    • "Great perks, difficult to move up."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free coffee and beans Health insurance at 20hrs a week

      Cons

      No set schedule Long periods of same movement

      Advice to Management

      Increase pay for those who work in high risk areas.

      Starbucks2019-07-12
    • "Good Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits that are easy to use, generally flexible hours if you're on top of it.

      Cons

      A bad manager can ruin everything. It is super dependent on that manager though.

      Starbucks2019-07-11
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Starbucks full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, benefits are AMAZING

      Cons

      The standards of serious work is very low. Management ( not the managers) cares too much about meeting goals and forget about customer service.

      Advice to Management

      To district and regional managers: work a full shiuft as a barista every month at a different store so you know what are the real issues of the store.

      Starbucks2019-07-11
    Found 3049 reviews