Starcom Worldwide Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Starcom Worldwide CEO Kathy Ring
Kathy Ring
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great place to work(in 63 reviews)

  • "Lively work environment, great people to work with, I heard a great experience(in 45 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Starcom Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Great upward mobility, hands on work and tons of opportunities.

    Cons

    Lots of work, might have to work late hours.

    Starcom Worldwide2019-02-16
  2. "Great Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starcom Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great learning experience. I really felt challenge and supported I'm my career journey from the first day! Co workers become family.

    Cons

    It's all about internal politics, and it can have work cliques

    Starcom Worldwide2020-05-29
  3. "Professional, organized environment with lots of resources"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Search Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starcom Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team was dedicated to a single account and focused on SEM. I felt the team was well-staffed, and we had enough resources to do the job right and exceed client expectations. Good work/life balance Well-established processes and protocols. Generous number of vacation days.

    Cons

    Work can feel siloed or over-specialized and repetitive on larger teams where responsibilities are divided. Promotions and raises are very structured/regulated and may be slower compared to smaller agencies.

    Continue reading
    Starcom Worldwide2020-05-30
  4. "A good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Birmingham, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starcom Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is great, schedule has some flexibility.

    Cons

    None that I would attribute to the company.

    Starcom Worldwide2020-04-21
  5. "GREAT job and opportunities, but..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starcom Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - incredible working and nurturing environment where you really feel like people want you to succeed both peers and managers - emulates a 'work hard, play hard' mindset - flexibility to move around within the company based on likes/dislikes - tough to get worn out on a specific project since there is always the option to move brands/positions/etc.

    Cons

    - not compensated for hard work at all or in a timely manner (i.e. overworked and underpaid) - you can fall victim to having a promotion/raise being pushed because of obscure large company processes that have nothing to do with performance (i.e. "there's too many people being promoted this quarter so we have to push your promotion to next quarter") - you have to really speak up for yourself if you want to be promoted (not completely a con but if you don't strongly advocate for yourself then no one else will)

    Continue reading
    Starcom Worldwide2020-04-21
  6. "Great experience working on high profile Clients"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Media Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starcom Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great exposure, smart and nice people created a positive work culture

    Cons

    It can feel too big at times.

    Starcom Worldwide2020-03-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Know what you are getting into"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Starcom Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of opportunities to network with the advertising community -Good for right of out college students who want to learn the business -Agency life is brutal but helps you learn faster, become tougher, and overcome challenges -Great place to first start out -A lot of time off (more than any other company)

    Cons

    -Pay is horrible -Management and HR are useless and often don't care about employees'needs -Work-life balance can be de-prioritized working long hours -High turnover of people quitting due to lack of pay and the sheer amount of work.

    Starcom Worldwide2020-02-27
  8. "Run!"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Media Associate in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Starcom Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Young co-workers and WFH (depending on team & not to be abused)

    Cons

    HORRIBLE management, micromanagement, no guidance, horrible examples to follow with high expectations of performance

    Continue reading
    Starcom Worldwide2020-01-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starcom Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great views, great location, big clients.

    Cons

    Senior management will never be honest with you. SVP’s will smile to your face then use directors to build a case and make you feel like a failure (even if your work is strong). The company is doing awful but they’re not honest about it. Once you’re targeted you can be a model employee and it will not matter, save yourself the headache and anxiety and stay away!

    Continue reading
    Starcom Worldwide2020-01-31
  10. "Good but room to improve"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Associate 

    I have been working at Starcom Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, interesting work, overall good culture. Potential for career growth and good challenging work exists.

    Cons

    The culture can be a bit stagnant, it varies by team and manager, it can be difficult to advance depending on managers and teams, growth opportunities are not always there. Depending on your role or team, it may not be challenging or lend itself to career growth.

    Continue reading
    Starcom Worldwide2019-12-11
Found 785 reviews