Starr Insurance Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

Starr Insurance Companies Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Starr Insurance Companies Chairman and CEO Maurice R. Greenberg
Maurice R. Greenberg
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management are fairly unapproachable(in 8 reviews)

  • "People are too scared to say the things that need to be said to upper management to make this place a more efficient and pleasurable place to work at(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Operations Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Environment, Great hours, Room to grow

    Cons

    None, great staff that are eager

    Starr Insurance Companies2019-06-19
  2. "Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Starr Insurance Companies full-time

    Pros

    NYC HQ lots of fun

    Cons

    EVeryone I talked to there was underpaid

    Starr Insurance Companies2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "OPPRESSIVE CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) If you are old, white and male, this company is for you. 2) If you are just starting your career, this company is for you. 3) If you enjoy boring work with boring people, this job is for you.

    Cons

    1) Lack of TEAMWORK. I have worked at top tier companies that foster teamwork. 2) Lack of PASSION and EXCITEMENT. It's insurance, nothing exciting unless you live insurance. If you have worked at other industries, please stay away from this organization. 3) Lack of CULTURE. Starr is an oppressive and old-fashioned organization. 4) Boring job, boring people, boring culture.

    Continue reading
    Starr Insurance Companies2020-02-07
  4. "Salaris"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice company atmosphere. Very friendly people.

    Cons

    Old school mentality in terms of very few holidays, 9-5 mindset, micro-managing and no working from home.

    Starr Insurance Companies2019-11-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Busy,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Claims Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free coffee, tea; easy walk from train stations; something new daily, good relationship with brokers / assureds; some travel;

    Cons

    not a lot of support from Home Office; asked to hold back on posting reserves

    Continue reading
    Starr Insurance Companies2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Worst office culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Short hours for decent pay.

    Cons

    Toxic in every sense of the word. The only people that thrive enable this mindset and perpetuate the behavior. I actively watched people lie, manipulate, and brown nose to get ahead/gain power & control without remorse. Bullying and abuse of power is an often occurrence. No one has a clue about what they’re doing until it bites them in the butt & they have to learn. Good humans with standards don’t last long here and if they stay, they quickly become depressed or complacent. Stuck in 1950’s office mentality.

    Continue reading
    Starr Insurance Companies2019-10-13
  7. "Great training and company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have learned a ton about underwriting and I’m very excited to continue my career growth

    Cons

    Old fashioned, no work from home

    Starr Insurance Companies2019-08-13
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Auditor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A positive work environment to start one's career.

    Cons

    Management seems set in their ways.

    Starr Insurance Companies2019-07-15
  9. "Unknown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are a great group

    Cons

    Do not offer work from home or flex time, do not like to promote, pay is lowest in the industry

    Starr Insurance Companies2019-07-19
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starr Insurance Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location. Room for growth if you ask for it and make connections.

    Cons

    Need more young professionals. Need flex

    Continue reading
    Starr Insurance Companies2019-05-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 123 reviews