Stars Behavioral Health Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Stars Behavioral Health Group Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Are you serious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carson, CA

      I have been working at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Ok benefits and the supervisors are great

      Cons

      Not much opportunity for growthh

      Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-05-02
    • "Review of STARS"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
      Recommends

      I worked at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time

      Pros

      Great opportunity for learning and gaining supervision. Seemed to have some structure within the organization.

      Cons

      Excessive driving. Unrealistic timelines. Incredibly low salary for the bay area.

      Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-05-05
    • "My experience at Star View"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Practicum Student in Carson, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Stars Behavioral Health Group part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Very helpful, knowledgable, and accessible supervisors. -Fair, reliable pay and benefits -Multiple training opportunities -Nice, modern facilities -Manageable caseload -Great coworkers

      Cons

      -Progress notes can be a pain and field based work comes with a lot of driving but these downsides are both expected with this type of work -Sometimes can feel a bit corporate and political

      Advice to Management

      Come up with a less tedious way of having employees complete mileage expense reports

      Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-04-12
    • "Mental Health Specialist I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time

        Pros

        Coworkers are great people to work with

        Cons

        Management is a mess and job is very demanding

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-04-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Don't join this place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Stars Behavioral Health Group for less than a year

        Pros

        Well the staff is cool, nice and friendly. Building is new and trainings are ok and that's really it that I can think of.

        Cons

        Micromanaging, documents don't get returned in on time in order for staff to submit them therefore you fall behind . There is a lot of clicks within the office and supervisor prefers one group . Overall very unprofessional

        Advice to Management

        Don't take on a task you don't know how to handle. Treat everyone with respect and don't judge others. Don't hire people when you don't need extra staff.

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-04-07

        Stars Behavioral Health Group Response

        April 13, 2017Director of Communications

        We are saddened to read about this former employee’s experience, and we wish we could adequately address their concerns, as we’re always trying to improve our practices for both our staff and our clients. However, since this review is anonymous and does not include the location of ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (1)

        "I love my job at Central Star"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Youth Counselor in Fresno, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Make a difference in the life of a youth Team oriented Good starting pay for the area Nice facility Quality client care

        Cons

        Disorganized sometimes. It seems like the staff are not always on the same page about certain subjects.

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-01-02
      • Helpful (4)

        "therapist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Therapist 

        I worked at Stars Behavioral Health Group

        Pros

        great pay and good experience

        Cons

        management was not aware of day to day operations

        Advice to Management

        need to lower productivity percentages to keep staff

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2017-01-07
      • Helpful (4)

        "You like working with Gangs, At-Risk Youth, The Hood, and enjoy LOTS of driving!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - MHS II in Highland Park, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Good people, extremely flexible, not tied to an office. Opportunity for lots of varied experiences.

        Cons

        Salary for MENTAL HEALTH SPECIALISTS is pathetic.

        Advice to Management

        You have the money, pay the clinicians who buy your BMW's.

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2016-12-07
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great Place to Work!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        SBHG has a -Strong company culture and dedication to providing excellent quality care for the families we serve. Excellent leadership team with expertise in all areas of the business- clinical, quality assurance, operations, fiscal and human relations. Dedication to the communities where services are provided and strong commitment to supporting and valuing our amazing team members. And last but by far not least the absolutely...

        Show More

        Cons

        SBHG is a company of excellence with high expectations and performance standards. It takes a particular type of dedicated, hard working and value driven professional to excel within the company.

        Advice to Management

        Continue doing what you do and have pride in the company, services and team members that make our company great.

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2016-10-27
      • Helpful (4)

        "Keep looking"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Employment in San Leandro, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Stars Behavioral Health Group full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Employees help each other out, friendly and welcoming employees, serving populations in need, outside trainings, some teams work well together, good resources provided by other employees-mentor and support new staff

        Cons

        Shocked at the lack of professionalism- upper management has poor leadership skills to develop and unite this organization, over 35 people have left under new management, building is shabby and outdated, only certain people are held accountable and the encounters are usually negative

        Advice to Management

        Listen to staff

        Stars Behavioral Health Group2016-11-21

        Stars Behavioral Health Group Response

        December 19, 2016Director of Communications

        Thank you for these important comments. We agree that Stars Community Services’ staff are great at supporting each other and working as a team. And we also agree that staff morale has been lower in 2016. Stars had a change in Administrator and several key managers this year and ...

        Show More
      Found 79 reviews