KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Starving Students

Is this your company?

Starving Students

Add a Review

Starving Students Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 34 reviews

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Starving Students Owner Ethan Margalith (no image)
Ethan Margalith
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great job

    Mar 25, 2020 - Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    wage, friendly, fun, nice, cool

    Cons

    none, zero, nothing, huh, woah

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    No Stress enjoyed meeting new people

    May 15, 2020 - Driver/Mover in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed work for Starving Students. I really had no issues. I might be a girl but I outworked the guys.

    Cons

    I had no issues at all. great job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    operations

    Dec 12, 2016 - Assistant Director of Ops in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I moved up the latter with in the company from mover to asst Director of Ops. within a few years. I got to meet people of all types but most of serving the customers was the best of all. I got to drive around all over So Cal on a daily basis visiting local branches and on job inspections. I really enjoyed working at SSM.

    Cons

    The job turn around is bad constantly training people! and i guess the schedule is horrible long hours not enough pay. other than that Great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Starving Students is a career, not just another job!!!!

    Dec 20, 2014 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Starving Students is a great place to work. it's the land of opportunity. I've worked here for almost a year and within the first two month I was promoted. Hard work is rewarded and if you're able to contribute and help the company grow, the owner is willing to listen and implement ideas that work best for the company. I've never worked in the company where the owner was so active and easily accessible. Its refreshing to know I can knock on his door and he will listen. We are a big family here. I am very lucky to be working in such a great place where the opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    Like ALL jobs there are pros and cons but overall Starving Students is a great place to work. Sometimes things work at a slow pace when you need answers right away.Not everyone is not ready for the change we need, but that's life... We WILL get the results we need because I'm here and I won't stop until we're where we should be!!!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    STARVING STUDENTS IS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK.

    Jun 27, 2014 - Anonymous in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been happily working for Starving Students for 7.5 years and I am proud to be a part of the Starving Students team. Management is supportive and fun. Our CEO is great and truly cares about his employees, and expects the best from us. The potential for growth is here; I started in sales and now I am a valued team member in a coveted department. I’m proud to be a part of the Starving Students family. Starving Students strongly believes, encourages, and facilitates our mission statement “To conduct relationships with all of our stakeholders as mutually agreed, to operate profitably, and to provide a great place to work.” I plan to work diligently and faithfully daily to promote and accelerate the company to new heights.

    Cons

    Some people consider it a con that management expects you to push yourself outside of your comfort zone. I personally enjoy this aspect, as I am continually learning and developing new skills.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Fast-Paced, lots of work but room 2 rise

    Jan 11, 2015 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Room to advance... most of the management worked their way up to top and are always scouting new talent (plus you can get a lot of early exposure if you work hard and seek out opportunities) -Diverse management team (lots of women, variety of ages, ethnic/racial backgrounds, personalities, etc.) -camaraderie---we have a lot of fun together and many were there for a long time -Mentorship options and very fair compensation -company is starting to grow again

    Cons

    -VERY fast-paced so it can be stressful during busy season -some new hires might mean change up to existing processes...which is great but probably more work -new employees will have to keep up with new tech being implemented -we got hammered by not acting fast enough to keep up with internet

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    fun place to work!!!

    Jun 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The owner is a visionary, he has proven it with the companies innovations in it's business processes, this has kept the company as one of the leaders in the moving industry for almost 4 decades. Has employed and continuously employs hundreds of employees throughout the US. Moves tens of thousands of satisfied customers all year round. Very dynamic environment. If you like projects, you want to be creative and want to sharpen your project management skills, then this is the place for you. Owner and wife are very approachable and friendly.

    Cons

    There are more business than what the company can handle. I hope we had more tools and people to do the job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Growing company with lots of potential

    Oct 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growing company right now that is going through lots of changes and expansion. Formerly nationwide operating company is getting business back up to full speed and will have ability to really take care of its employees in the near future. Private owned, can get face time with management and owners. Big office, lots of space in a great location. Lots of great food in Sawtelle Japantown.

    Cons

    Growing pains- lots of things shifting around with processes as changes are happening. As long as you can learn new things and multi task there is potential for good commissions. No fringe benefits right now but coming soon, makes up for it with comp plan.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Scary just how bad the Company is...

    Sep 17, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There really are none. The hours are long, the pay sucks, and senior management is absurdly incompetent (with the owner being the most incompetent and craziest of the bunch).

    Cons

    It's a long list. Ridiculous hours and terrible pay. Nothing gets done because the owner will not allow anyone to do anything. As a result, things just get worse and worse. The owner refuses to honor any of his contracts or pay any vendors and makes up absurd excuses as to why and then blames other employees for his dishonesty and lack of ethics. There are some employees there that are completely incompetent, but keep their job because they do whatever the owner says. Owner focuses on minor details that do not matter while huge issues go unattended. Owner hires and fires managers every two weeks; the remainder quit within days. Never seen or heard of any company operate in this manner.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company to be partners with.

    Apr 10, 2016 - Owner in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its an honor to be part of a great moving company, we are currently handling Utah and I noticed that most of our customer either from California and Nevada who are currently moving with in Utah, most of our customers are repeat from previous moves done in those States ( California and Nevada) we are happy to be part of that great experience and our job is to keep that legend of Quality Control Satisfaction for the Customers !

    Cons

    Don't have any cons to share, very happy with them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Work at Starving Students? Share Your Experiences

Starving Students logo
or