KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Starwood Hotels & Resorts

Is this your company?

Starwood Hotels & Resorts

Add a Review

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 of over 2,128 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Starwood Hotels & Resorts CEO Adam Aron
Adam Aron
414 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun work environment, good mentoring(in 92 reviews)

  • "Fantastic company with great benefits and solid structure(in 86 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance, challenging to grow with transition(in 63 reviews)

  • "Long hours that is not compensated a lot of times(in 56 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Starwood Hotels & Resorts and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to work

      Oct 27, 2018 - IT Senior Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work environment Good pay + Benefits

      Cons

      I don't see any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best of the Best

      Sep 18, 2008 - Marketing Manager in Myrtle Beach, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starwood has a view of itself as an innovator in the industry, and because of that is an excellent environment for people who like to have the freedom and autonomy to manage in their own style. In addition, they have wonderful employee benefits that rival an company in the industry. What people look for in an employer is a company that can provide opportunity for career advancement, fair compensation, needed benefits, and a pleasant work environment. Starwood does all these things. For these reasons if anyone feels like their company just doesn't provide everything they're looking for one should really take a look at Starwood Vacation Ownership.

      Cons

      Being that it is a division of Starwood Hotels, there are things that individuals who have worked at private companies might find frustrating at times. These are primarily the corporate shared service departments. They serve a vital role in standardizing the message across the company, but these departments do add time to any process that involves them.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked. Underpaid. Underappreciated.

      Sep 6, 2016 - Pbx/Switchboard Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounts on Rooms Properties Worldwide Clean Working Environment Excellent Rewards Program High Turnover Rate

      Cons

      I've worked myself to the bone here and have been treated flippantly. I had a manager yell at me just the other day because I couldn't get someone to do something that only a manager can get them to do. I'm not even a supervisor. I've streamlined processes and even made new ones to better our guest relationships. Yet I have received no thanks. I help sales with their things. I'm not even a sales manager. I've been here almost two years and am jerked around on my schedule like no one's business. When I ask for a steadier one, I'm guilted into giving back open availability while new hires get steady schedules and better working hours. I've even dealt with abuse. It took them 9 months to fire someone who would be verbally abusive to me, other coworkers and guests. We had mentioned it before, but she just got a slap on the wrist. Only after she started coming after me--unprovoked--on my personal phone and I threatened to file a harassment complaint was anything done. I've also been here nearly two years and I have yet to see a raise of any kind other than when the new management company took over the property in October 2015 and even then, I didn't get that 15cent "raise" and back pay until August 2016. Overworked Seniority Doesn't Matter Inconsistent Scheduling Scheduling comes out a day before the new week Underpaid Raises Do NOT Happen No Room for Advancement Unaffordable Health/Dental Insurance No Recognition for Work Performance High Turnover Rate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good entry to hospitality; tons of perks and lots of support and advancement opps

      Jul 31, 2010 - Front Desk Agent in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job out of college. Tons of perks, flexible schedule, awesome management and co-workers. Gained office and customer service experience transferable to my career. Also the Sheraton has fabulous advancement and training opportunities if you're wanting to make hospitality your career. My property isn't unionized like most Seattle hotels (a distinct benefit in my opinion) and had excellent health benefits, retirement, time-off, and travel perks.

      Cons

      Customer service can be stressful but having supportive coworkers and a good work environment helps. Sometimes in the busy seasons there can be long hours (but you get overtime pay); sometimes in the low season there's not enough hours (but the time off is nice). You need to be able to be a bit flexible in schedules...hotels are open 24/7.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      The good outweighs the bad.

      Jun 29, 2008 - Software Developer in White Plains, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very relaxed and family oriented work environment, this is a huge plus. Starwood as a corporation does a very good job at hosting events (from small lunches to large scale parties and outings) that are very good for morale. Sometimes too much fluff products and marketing, but in the end, Starwood puts out a great product.

      Cons

      Our department in particular, and I've heard the same from others, doesn't do a good job of using the best talent to their best abilities, nor is there any kind of repercussions for the people that don't do their job well. Great career path if you're interesting in management, most people get screwed if you' want to move up based on tech ability.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Entry Job for Hospitality

      Dec 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience to gain working here. Pay isn't too great, but because they cut into your pay to offer a cafeteria for lunch at no cost. Fast pace work environment. Great benefits and a reasonable cost! Legal services, Life and Health insurance offered.

      Cons

      Overworked. They will expect you to work like a dog! They want you to do more than is expected of your job description and beyond. It is a field of hospitality, so it would be expected but just wanted to mention it. Pay is subpar compared to other hotel companies that offer much more for the same position.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A decade at the leading edge of the industry

      Jul 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is at the leading edge of innovation in the industry. One of the largest companies, each of its many brands have a distinct identity. Sheraton -- you belong Westin -- be well etc. There is a brand for every customer and an ideal work environment out there for everyone in hospitality.

      Cons

      The base hourly wage for the department I have experience in has not been raised in 8 years; and the annual performance review increases cap out at 5% for "outstanding".

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best company I have worked for but can no longer.

      May 12, 2017 - AP Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work environment is so positive, co-workers are amazing, the culture is so innovating, the open door policy is a true belief and practiced, work benefits for the employee are amazing!!

      Cons

      The company was just purchased and now the office is closing. There are opportunities to move with the new company but not enough positions for all the employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Enriching

      Nov 15, 2012 - Analyst in Stamford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is in the Upper, Up Scale segment. We have fabulous properties around the world to provide solutions for our customers. You have the ability to travel and can experience many different career goals, if desired, both domestically and internationally. We are able to provide experiences to our customers like no company in our industry. Great work environment. Colleagues that are engaged and happy to be here.

      Cons

      At times, change happens and it is not always positive. Opportunities to learn from others is not always available.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Starwood Hotels

      Jul 21, 2015 - Data Migrations Specialist in Stamford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you enjoy travel, there are a number of jobs in the company that require a fair amount of travel. All employees are given cell phones. The general work environment is relaxed and casual, and the majority of the people there are friendly and helpful.

      Cons

      The company seems to be very top-heavy with management, especially middle management. Also, in the recent elimination of positions, they seemed to use the last in, first out method, rather than evaluating the quality and skill of the employees in each affected department. And of course, it isn't really fair that the on-the-line employees are the ones that pay the steepest price for failed policies and practices.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 107 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Starwood Hotels & Resorts Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Starwood Hotels & Resorts? Share Your Experiences

    or