State Street Fund Accountant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Fund Accountant

State Street Fund Accountant Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 378 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
10 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Transitioning from Public Accounting into Private Equity Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accounting Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary & Benefits State Street offers above average salaries and benefits at the Senior Level that is unbeatable. Work Environment Everyone in the Atlanta office has a great attitude! It all trickles down from management all the way to the youngest intern. That positive demeanor around the office promotes quality work and comradery. The Atlanta Real Assets Fund Services group as a whole niche is volunteering...

    Show More

    Cons

    Rest assured, State Street Atlanta has done a great job bringing in new candidates that are competent, who has well-rounded characteristics and is willing and able to move along the team for the better without disturbing a strong foundation that has been set.

    State Street2019-06-07
  2. "Junior Fund Accountant is a great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Fund Accountant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly and willing to help you learn. As an intern, it is up to you how much you would like to take on or how often you want to shadow. It is a really wonderful opportunity for undergraduates because of the hours, how much you learn each day, and a great name/talking point on a resume. I fulfill the tasks of an Associate II as an intern which makes me feel valuable to State Street.

    Cons

    I would prefer to say I don't have any cons, but if I had to choose something, it would be that the daily accounting tasks are very repetitive. You mostly complete the same tasks everyday and the most exciting thing is when you have to do research for an unusual break on accounting/custody.

    Advice to Management

    I think having more of a personal connection with some of the team members would be nice. It does feel a bit disconnected at times.

    State Street2016-12-05
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Mutual Fund Accountant 

      I worked at State Street for less than a year

      Pros

      They have a Progressive culture

      Cons

      redundant processes and can get boring

      State Street2019-06-26
    • "Get Some Experience and Get Out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mutual Fund Accountant in Kansas City, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, gym in the building

      Cons

      No training, you basically just watch someone for a couple weeks and they send you on your way.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees better and your turnover wouldn't be so high

      State Street2019-06-06
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Fund Accountant 

        I have been working at State Street full-time

        Pros

        Easy work, good coworkers, engaging company

        Cons

        Low pay, very similar to a meat grinder

        State Street2019-05-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "Day to day varies wildly, overall dreadful due to outlook"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Clifton, NJ
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some teams are SUPER knowledgeable. I’m really lucky to be able to be on one. Also, very flexible work life balance (work from home up to three days a week).

        Cons

        Underpaid, very poor healthcare. And even though this is supposed to be an American Bank who accepted American Bail Out Dollars, the strategy plan is to move over 80% of teams offshore (to China, India, and Poland). Also the balance sheet is an overall mess - whoever okayed the Charles River acquisition was a moron. GROSSLY overpaid.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your talent !!!! In the time I’ve been here I’ve watched at least one staff level associate leave per month, because they were able to find more money elsewhere. Only competitive pay is going to keep talent on board and then maybe the company would actually get somewhere if staff stayed for longer than a year.

        State Street2019-04-05
      • "Stressful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Junior Fund Accountant in Sacramento, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at State Street part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Office looks pretty and they have a nice break room

        Cons

        No real training for JFAs

        Advice to Management

        Work on better training for interns who are not apart of the internship program. After all, we are the interns that'll be there the longest.

        State Street2019-03-18
      • Helpful (6)

        "Fund Accountant Associate 1"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Fund Accountant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at State Street full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        You get a pay check and it’s something to put on your resume.

        Cons

        Where do I even start. This company does not pay well at all, paying entry level employees a salary of 30k is an absolute joke. No wonder nobody stays here for more than a year or two as I noticed there is a very high turnover. Your expected to work very and I mean very long hours at times if not most of the time. Management is clueless as they seriously have no idea as to how to manage a team professionally. You don’t...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Quit outsourcing so many jobs to India and China and pay your U.S. employees higher salaries so there won’t be such a high turnover. This cost saving strategy will only work in the short run as clients will get frustrated with State Streets service and eventually go to another bank to be serviced.

        State Street2018-12-27
      • "Good experience. Low pay."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Fund Accountant, Associate II in Atlanta, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Very flexible with schedule Work from home is an option Class A office Casual dress except for when clients visit 6% 401k match Lots of vacation time Good experience

        Cons

        Health insurance sucks Parking is $115/month Low pay No training

        Advice to Management

        Get your employees better health insurance options. Pay for parking. There is zero training structure for new employees.

        State Street2018-09-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Mediocre company, mediocre culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Sacramento, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great opportunity to learn specifics of the finance industry, but don't expect a lot of guidance.

        Cons

        Poor management, lack of enthusiasm, stressful culture.

        Advice to Management

        Engage more with your employees and maybe you'll have a higher level a of job interest and retention.

        State Street2018-09-23
      Found 378 reviews