KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

State Street

Engaged Employer

State Street

Add a Review

State Street Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5,798 of over 6,623 reviews

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
State Street President and CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
747 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits, Low work pressure(in 277 reviews)

  • "Enjoyable work environment and experience(in 238 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Operations staff has to work really long hours(in 247 reviews)

  • "Low salary in comparison to the industry(in 121 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of State Street and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      StateStreet is employee-centric

      Sep 7, 2020 - Senior Manager in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      StateStreet is very employee-centric and always finding out better ways to bring in process efficiency

      Cons

      there is no cons, as per my experience with StateStreet so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      State Street Response

      Brand Manager

      Thank you for the positive feedback. We really appreciate the fact that you regard State Street as employee focused and value the ongoing business transformation which is one of our goals. The leadership on the ground is strongly supportive of all people-centric initiatives, which allow us to provide the best for our colleagues. We also continue to constantly streamline our processes leading to improved service delivery for our clients. Aruna, Vice President – Global Delivery

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Jun 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok was good and stuff

      Cons

      None at all and stuff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Learning Opportunities, But Not a Healthy Work Environment

      Jul 21, 2021 - Assistant Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are always great opportunities to learn more about professional development and new products within the company. It's a great place to start your career

      Cons

      Technology, No Work/Life Balance, Lack of Guidance 1. There are always technology issues that cause a bottleneck with work. It can take hours, if not a week to resolve a system issue that is preventing you from completing your job. This causes unnecessary tension between your manager and team members, because you cannot complete your work on time. 2. Depending on your team, expect to work at least 10-12 hours with no complaints. My manager and co-worker work 14-16 hours per day, so it was normalized. You are perceived as not working hard enough if you plan on working 40 hours/week. 3. Performing new functions is daunting because many of the procedures are out of date and missing key steps. At times, people are condescending when you ask questions, and expect you to be an expert on new things.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      State Street / Fund Administrator Review

      Jul 22, 2021 - Senior Fund Administrator in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Will challenge you and will learn a lot. Good internal mobility so there are many opportunities.

      Cons

      The work is a grind, coworkers aren't the best, can't get promoted unless there is an open req regardless of the level of work you're doing. Typical big company issues - portion some of your time to networking in the company or else no one will know who you are.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      NA

      May 11, 2021 - AVP-Finance in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      blank blank blank blank blank

      Cons

      Throughout Mod 1 I have gained valuable knowledge and experiences. As I reflect, I have utilized the feedback that I received in the early weeks of the MOD. At that time, the group was consistent in their recognition of my organization skills and willingness to jump in to provide support. Overall, I had received 4's from my group members in all categories except for "positive personal style" for which I received a split score of 3 and 4. These were areas that I focused on improving throughout the continuation of the MOD and the group work that I participated in. I feel that I was successful in this, as my group provided feedback such as “As the facilitator she was a good project leader always keeping us aligned with objectives and making sure that everything was submitted on time” and “Danielle was an important member of the team and kept us focused on the goal at hand. She was a hardworking member of our team and always came prepared.” From a project management perspective, one of the biggest lessons that I have learned is to plan further out. While we remained vigilantly aware of the deadlines, we could have planned more effectively in terms of managing our workload leading up to the project deliverables. I look forward to taking the lessons I have learned throughout the past few months into MOD 2. As I become a member of a new group, I hope to take these experiences forth to continue to improve and bring value to my new group.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Jul 22, 2021 - Business Controller in Quincy, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work. I highly recommended it

      Cons

      Employee’s salaries is too lower

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to start

      Jul 21, 2021 - Business Systems Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      State street is massive company which helps in learning Various fintech

      Cons

      It’s know for it hiring & firing policy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent Place to get started

      Jul 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment is cool and young people just getting started

      Cons

      Not much room for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent first job

      Jul 19, 2021 - Securities Operations Specialist in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to work from home frequently

      Cons

      Loyalty isn’t rewarded, people who have been there longer were more vulnerable to layoffs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place for new employees - haven't worked there in a while - forced to choose most recent year of 2017

      Jul 13, 2021 - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to start! They will start you at a low salary but give you a chance.

      Cons

      Difficult to switch between departments.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,798 Reviews

    Popular Careers with State Street Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at State Street? Share Your Experiences

    or