KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

State Street

Engaged Employer

State Street

Add a Review

State Street Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 7,164 of over 8K reviews
3.4
63% Recommend to a Friend
State Street President and CEO Ronald O’Hanley
76% Approve of CEO

Found 7,110 of over 8K reviews

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
State Street President and CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
1,336 Ratings

What people are saying about State Street

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The overall work attitude is very negative due to the tedious work and low pay.(in 512 reviews)
  • "Low salary but not too bad(in 441 reviews)
  • "Poor management of conflicts (Management has no interest in resolving conflicts.. they are only concerned about workload being completed or not)(in 338 reviews)
  • "Long hours and waves of turnover(in 165 reviews)
  • "Managers don't have time to delegate a task and cannot explain what end result they want.(in 152 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of State Street and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Work Life Balance

    Jun 10, 2022 - Senior Associate in Hyderābād
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Team Great Learning Less Politics Believes in Growing Together

    Cons

    Odd Working Hours Might not meet your appraisal demand

    1 person found this review helpful

    State Street Response

    Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you appreciate our people and learning opportunities. Also be sure to talk with your manager about your working hours so you can come up with a plan that works for the both of you.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Benefits

    Aug 10, 2022 - AVP Accounting 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Offers great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours and have to work weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work with.

    Aug 9, 2022 - Systems Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, Learning, Growth, Benefits, Support

    Cons

    Continuous learning and need to keep up with changes.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company continuing to go through transformation

    Aug 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, nice people Flexibility to work remote/ hybrid

    Cons

    Fee compression and competition continues cost pressure on industry

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    State Street Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know about your experience pertaining to flexible work timings, great teams and a good work culture. At State Street, our leadership team is continuously striving to give an inclusive, supportive and professional environment to all employees. We have established culture traits to focus on our success as a high performing organization.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    Aug 4, 2022 - Senior Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work with

    Cons

    Not any specific cons as

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    State Street Response

    Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your time at State Street! We value our employees’ opinion and are always looking for new ways to encourage them to participate in providing feedback. All the best for your career and stay safe.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Risk Analyst

    Aug 3, 2022 - Risk Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing. great work ethics and timings

    Cons

    work life balance and low pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    State Street Response

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you appreciate the work environment we offer. Rewarding hard work and strong business ethics has always been an important aspect of our values. We are also focused on strengthening employee work life balance through a number of initiatives focused on improving efficiency and reducing any duplication of efforts.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Solid place to work

    Jul 29, 2022 - Fixed Income Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Things move very slowly and company is rigid.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    State Street Response

    Thank you for sharing your comments. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed working at State Street and were surrounded by good people and good culture. As a global financial institution, we must consider and evaluate multiple aspects before making decisions and initiating organizational changes. This sometimes leads to delays and slow decision making. We appreciate our employees’ patience and understanding during such times. Thank you for all the good work you have done for us.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to start out, but not to stay at.

    Jul 27, 2022 - Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a good place to start since they hire a number of people straight out of college and cover the cost of additional education.

    Cons

    Work can be boring and monotonous.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    State Street Response

    Thank you for sharing your review. We believe that State Street is not only a place where you can start but also to make great career progression. Employees can choose from multiple career paths in various divisions. We also promote internal mobility widely.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Cheap Employer

    Aug 8, 2022 - Senior Audit Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros