State Street Senior Fund Accountant Reviews | Glassdoor

State Street Senior Fund Accountant Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
2 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Transitioning from Public Accounting into Private Equity Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accounting Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary & Benefits State Street offers above average salaries and benefits at the Senior Level that is unbeatable. Work Environment Everyone in the Atlanta office has a great attitude! It all trickles down from management all the way to the youngest intern. That positive demeanor around the office promotes quality work and comradery. The Atlanta Real Assets Fund Services group as a whole niche is... volunteering and giving back. On a quarterly basis you will find some type of event being coordinated by the office to better our communities, outside of work. Volume of Work Depending on the demand of the client volume can be high to moderate. I have worked on several funds within the last year and I can say that the client enjoys driving efficiency. The perk at the senior level when there is a high volume of work or the time spent for process improvement, overtime pay is offered. Flexibility (Life/Work Balance) State Street is a big advocate delivering timely deliverables but also ensures you are taking care of you as an individual. One of the appealing items that were shared with me during my screening process is the ability to work remotely when needed. I can attest that perk is official depending on team setup. Opportunities When I was hired by State Street I was brought on to be a part of a new sub business line of the PE/Real Assets group; Infrastructure Accounting. Within in my first year I have witnessed how expansive and promising this role is. At the Senior Level in Industry you would not be expected to be involved in some many processes end to end. That includes on-boarding new clients, on-boarding existing clients with new funds, day to day fund accounting and administration, and consulting with the client on complex task.

    Show More

    Cons

    Rest assured, State Street Atlanta has done a great job bringing in new candidates that are competent, who has well-rounded characteristics and is willing and able to move along the team for the better without disturbing a strong foundation that has been set.

    State Street2019-06-07
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After working there for three calendar years you get 20 days paid vacation. Including sick days, holidays, and vacation time I could take off 37 days per year, which was nice.

    Cons

    Terrible salary. Terrible hours. Some management was okay, but mostly terrible management. The talent eventually leaves the company so the lazy, unskilled workers who stick around for 8 years are eventually promoted.

    State Street2018-04-02
  3. "Above average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    low salary... hard to get motivated.

    Cons

    great benefits, convenient locations, and laid back environment

    State Street2017-02-22
  4. "Senior Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Fund Accountant in Brighton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street for more than a year

    Pros

    State Street gives you the opportunity to run early since you will realize they aren't concerned with your career growth.

    Cons

    Everything - the culture, pay, and mentality of management make this place a terrible place to work. Say goodbye to your career if you spend more than 2 years there.

    Advice to Management

    Lose the COE structure - not a good way to keep talent

    State Street2016-04-20
  5. "State Street Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Fund Accountant in Overland Park, KS
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street for more than a year

    Pros

    4 weeks of vacation after working one complete calendar year, 401K matching up to 5% after 1 year of service. Very relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Low wages compared to the market average and a high turnover rating are the cons

    State Street2016-02-12
  6. "Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangement offered, great benefits and lots of vacation time. Company is flexible with social life outside of work.

    Cons

    Team had issues with promoting from within. Long hours (overtime is offered at some levels), base salary not market value

    State Street2015-11-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Fund Accountant in Boston, MA

    I have been working at State Street for more than a year

    Pros

    State Street has a great vacation package. After 3 years you have 4 weeks of vacation.

    Cons

    State street pays very little. They would rather have new college students take a job and pay them a minimum salary than give raises each year to current employees.

    State Street2015-07-26
  8. "Reporting and Compliance Fund Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Fund Accountant in Allston, MA

    I worked at State Street for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth Opportunity; Great Benefit with great medical insurance and vacation days

    Cons

    prepare for overtimes, low compensation,

    State Street2015-04-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience entering financial field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Given opportunity to learn mutual funds

    Cons

    Low pay, company sends jobs offshore

    Advice to Management

    Please be good to employees, most are been with the company for a long time

    State Street2014-09-24
  10. "OK place to start, terrible place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to get a job with no experience, work from home is available if you have a good manager who allows it

    Cons

    Huge focus on centralizing processes leaves you with a lot of experience in one area and almost no experience with anything else. It can be difficult to move on to another company if you stay there too long. A lot of promotions are based on who is next in line rather than who would actually be good for the position. Very poor compensation, my last bonus was 1% of my already low salary and actually getting tuition... benefits approved is very difficult.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on making your workforce as cheap as possible. A well paid employee is not just a cost to be minimized, but should be considered an asset that can bring in revenue.

    State Street2013-10-05
Found 38 reviews