KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

State Street

Engaged Employer

State Street

Add a Review

State Street Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 of over 6,660 reviews

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
State Street President and CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
844 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits, Low work pressure(in 277 reviews)

  • "Enjoyable work environment and experience(in 238 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Operations staff has to work really long hours(in 247 reviews)

  • "Low salary in comparison to the industry(in 121 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of State Street and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      My team was very welcoming and helped me every step of the way

      Jul 9, 2020 - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and the work environment really depends on the team you work with.

      Cons

      The company is too big and sometimes it may be easy to get lost

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      State Street Response

      Brand Manager

      Thank you for your comment. Our experiences are similar. Despite the size of the company and multiple departments, I also felt that my team was welcoming from the first day. My manager setup introductory meetings with all team members to quickly integrate me during the first week of my rotation. All team members were welcoming and encouraging, which allowed me to feel comfortable during training and asking questions. Throughout my rotation, my manager has helped to provide many projects and opportunities to challenge and enhance my skillset, with the help of my teammates to further learn from and develop. This is the kind of experience our organization is striving to give to all new joiners. There are multiple best practices to help everyone feel included and valued. Lidia, Senior Associate, Global Delivery

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Garbage company not worth your effort

      May 4, 2020 - Team Lead in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Time off is about all the company brings to the table.

      Cons

      Having left State Street in February just before COVID-19 I could see the turn the company had taken and was fortunate to get out before shutdowns kicked in. State Street is completely committed to eliminating manual labor in the states and paying a fraction of a salary here to employees in India. You are worthless in the company's eyes if you're below a VP. Raises and promotions were non-existent my last three years there. Work continues to pile up on people left behind while simultaneously not giving anything back to the employees for doing so. Officers and AVPs overseeing teams act as talking pieces for upper management and aren't going to go to bat for you. Layoffs have been rampant and the company deliberately shapes the work environment to encourage resignations so they can avoid paying severance packages. Absolutely not a place you want to be starting at new right now. Would avoid at all costs.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Meh

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Associate - Client Operations in Quincy, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience for starters for 1 -2 years.

      Cons

      Just a casual work environment - get to the office to work and nothing else

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Work environment tough

      Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Long work hours but basically unlimited overtime pay

      Cons

      Work environment is basically everyone for themselves

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not recommended...

      Dec 16, 2020 - Operations Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly there were no pros to this job.

      Cons

      Low pay, mandatory overtime, stressful work environment, miserable coworkers, lack of advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Mixed bag

      Sep 5, 2020 - Senior Vice President in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant work environment, nice colleagues, good benefits, progressive employer stance

      Cons

      Too much bureaucracy, constant cost cutting and lay offs, lack of alignment at the top

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great for the experience as a high school student

      Mar 2, 2020 - Product Management Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, it was really easy to ask for help on work even as a high school student.

      Cons

      I did not have a big understanding of the work I was doing and there was not much explanation about it either, I just did it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      State Street Response

      Brand Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear your overall experience with State Street was positive and you enjoyed your internship with us. We encourage our managers to provide junior employees with as much insight as possible regarding their function and how it compiles into the big picture of our business. I’m sorry to hear that you have not received full explanation regarding your particular fraction of the process, however I can assure you the work that is being assigned to our interns is always meaningful and important. I’m sure a broad understanding of business processes comes with experience. I’m therefore hope you will consider pursuing further career with us. Andriy, AVP University Relations

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      10 years at State Street

      May 20, 2020 - Data Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A solid, flexible working environment with more than adequate managerial and technical support.

      Cons

      Limited cloud presence, closed garden relying on .net technologies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      State Street Response

      Brand Manager

      Thank you for sharing your review. We are committed to providing flexible working opportunities to our colleagues. Throughout my career at State Street, I have had success collaborating with my managers and agreeing on a work arrangement that supports an effective work-life balance for me. The organization continues to enhance end users’ digital experience, productivity and collaboration. We are always looking for better ways to grow and are open to suggestions. – Luis, Assistant Vice President

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work-Life Balance

      Aug 26, 2020 - Applications Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience and decent benefits

      Cons

      Work environment, expected to work a lot, higher ups seem miserable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work!

      Apr 14, 2020 - Applications Consultant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Good benefits 2) WFH 3) Great working environment

      Cons

      1) long working hours at times 2)weekend support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 280 Reviews

    Popular Careers with State Street Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at State Street? Share Your Experiences

    or