State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning Reviews | Glassdoor

State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning CEO Edmund G.(Jerry)  Brown Jr.
Edmund G.(Jerry) Brown Jr.
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, good benefits, good retirement(in 14 reviews)

  • "The number one advantage of working for the state of California was the job security(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor pay with no raises accompanied with furloughs(in 9 reviews)

  • "Top heavy upper management was a frustration(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "State of California"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Systems Specialist in Sacramento, CA

      I have been working at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning

      Pros

      Great benefits, flexible time and great retirement

      Cons

      mediocre pay, no telework, glass ceiling

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2015-01-21
    • "it is okay job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Stockton, CA

      I have been working at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      It is a good job

      Cons

      Management, staff members, can be a hostile environment at times

      Advice to Management

      To be nice to staff

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2019-03-13
    • "Good Department, Horrible Upper Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Assistant in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers, nicest building, amenities I’m only giving this department three stars because I like the most workers, free parking, cleanliness, & great cafe food

      Cons

      Worst Upper Management! Plays politics too much. Did not earn their positions faithfully. Flat out lied putting the entire department in jeopardy just to terminate an employee. I liked working there, but upper management needs to leave! Nothing but Nepotism.

      Advice to Management

      Get out of there & give they position to someone that deserves it AND honest!

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2018-09-11
    • "AGPA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning full-time

      Pros

      Free parking, great co-workers, etc.

      Cons

      Too far from food venues

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2018-01-29
    • "It's a good job to gain experience in the field"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Patrol Officer in Brooklyn Park, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Same day hire, No experience needed

      Cons

      low pay 9.00 hr Unpaid 8hr training

      Advice to Management

      Buy basic equipment such as a flash light

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2017-06-08
    • "Clinical Social Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Clinical Social Worker in Stockton, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, good pay, good experience.

      Cons

      Some not so effective managers.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to line staff.

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2016-03-29
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Services Analyst in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Supportive management, many promotional opportunities through the state, excellent benefits, reasonably relaxed work environment, good location downtown, very fair hiring/promotion process

      Cons

      Can be a boring place to work, little promotional opportunity within the department, sometimes strict rules, moving to Natomas soon, very high turnover rate

      Advice to Management

      Hire fewer overqualified candidates to keep good employees from promoting out of the department so quickly. Allow people to telecommute or very flexible schedules.

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2015-09-29
    • "Nurse evaluator II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      I am very happy to be a worker in my p Last job before I got retired.

      Cons

      Too far to commute daily. I had to get up at 5 am .

      Advice to Management

      Quite good management

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2015-07-23
    • "Program Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Location, Mission, Promotion Opportunities, Size

      Cons

      Some programs/positions are not very busy.

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2015-05-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Managers promote who they like not the most qualified"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Governmental Program Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning full-time

      Pros

      goals, mission, purpose. I think that the work we do is important and our programs haved helped many.

      Cons

      Being friendly to the managers is your ticket to getting promoted and most of the time, there are more qualified people. Experience and reliability does not count for much these days. They hire young people right out of college with no experience. They promote people who use foul language daily and who are never talked to. I tried to say something once to the manager when this one person was so loud for over an hour....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Open your eyes to the people you hire.

      State of California Office of Statewide Health Planning2015-06-09
    Found 111 reviews