State of Delaware Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

State of Delaware Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
State of Delaware CEO John Carney
John Carney
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No raises statewide in over 7 years(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low pay over work short breaks(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse/CNA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Delaware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team work Excellent Benefits Fair Administrators

    Cons

    less pay than private sector

    State of Delaware2019-11-07
  2. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at State of Delaware

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible schedule were good

    Cons

    Hard to advance, low pay

    State of Delaware2019-11-18
  3. "Good job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Master Family Service Specialist in Wilmington, DE

    I worked at State of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible hours, state car, great coworkers

    Cons

    The pay will never be enough for what the job requires, little room for raise but not much, little support from higher ups

    State of Delaware2019-11-18
  4. "Very Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Director in Dover, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work/life balance, health benefits, friendly co-workers

    Cons

    low salary compared to private sector

    State of Delaware2019-10-21
  5. "Great benefits, very average pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Services Specialist II in Dover, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My benefits package is like no other, I go to any doctor I want and pay very small co-pays. Job security after 1-year probation, all years towards retirement are transferable to any other state position, accumulate sick/vacation time very fast.

    Cons

    Due to so many opportunities for managers to be promoted there is high turnover for supervisors, I have been in my current position for less than one year and I have had 4 supervisors so it makes it hard to make changes within the department or to get help because usually, our supervisors are not familiar with our job duties.

    Advice to Management

    Make supervisors more accessible to essential employees, it would be nice if our building had an overnight supervisor.

    State of Delaware2019-09-12
  6. "A Little Motivation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are excellent in comparison to other companies.

    Cons

    Overall pay. Compare to surrounding states.

    Advice to Management

    Experience and seniority (with a good work ethic) are still relevant. Compensating that may help.

    State of Delaware2019-06-28
  7. "Environmental Scientist at DNREC- very low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Scientist in New Castle, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health insurance, work life balance is good

    Cons

    Very low pay, no cost of living increase, no raises, no bonus. Basically everyone gets hired in at the minimum level, their system is so bloated and insufficient on salary calculations (assumed, HR wont release metrics) that people with masters degrees and a decade of experience make 5% from minimum...

    Advice to Management

    Remove the current midpoint pay system and use a step system like nearly every other state in the USA

    State of Delaware2019-04-16
  8. "Good work Environment and atmopshere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Family Service Specialist 

    I have been working at State of Delaware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and atmosphere

    Cons

    Not much room for salary increase. hard to get full time position.

    State of Delaware2019-03-07
  9. "Administrative Assistant ll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in New Castle, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Delaware

    Pros

    Benefits( Medical, Dental, Vision)Pension, Additional training, friendly-family environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    State of Delaware2019-01-29
  10. "great job with a purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at State of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with professional fellow employees

    Cons

    difficult to be subject to state fiscal restraints

    State of Delaware2019-01-25
Found 163 reviews