State of Delaware "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Delaware Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Aug 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
State of Delaware Governor John Carney
John Carney
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No raises statewide in over 7 years(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to private sector(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Social Services Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Services Administrator in Felton, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at State of Delaware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits - was able to retire after 25 years.

    Cons

    So many changes and policies to remember.

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2016-05-30
  2. "Family Crisis Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at State of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    good benefits offered to employees

    Cons

    lack of pay raises offered

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2018-08-04
  3. "Dedicated staff - politics can create barriers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Officer in Dover, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady employment with good benefits including healthcare.

    Cons

    Company "politics" tend to create barriers to providing superior service.

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2017-12-04
  4. "App Support Specalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work life balance, lots of resources to do your job, management is fair

    Cons

    Typical government bureaucracy (Takes a while for things to get done). Pay is below average

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2017-06-02
  5. "A poor salary for a professional licensed therapist and the state does not believe in n raises ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Crisis Therapist in New Castle, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stability good starting pay and good benefits. Your receiver reasonable amount of days off for holiday sick time.

    Cons

    Pay is extremely lousy,As the state does not value professional workers and this is evident by their poor pay scale a non existing pay increase. I've been making the same salary for the past 5 years despite cost of living or the keep up of my professional license.

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2017-05-24
  6. "Clerical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Support Specialist in Milford, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State of Delaware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good vacation benefits and good health insurance

    Cons

    No place for advancement and poor leadership

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2017-02-21
  7. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at State of Delaware

    Pros

    very good benefits and flexible schedule.

    Cons

    A lot of cliques and fraternizing within the company and micromanagement.

    State of Delaware2016-09-29
  8. "Disability examiner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, easy going office, no time clock, work independently. cheap benefits for family.

    Cons

    not much pay, no COA raises. small office so there isn't much networking going on. once you are trained to do this there aren't many transferable skills.

    State of Delaware2016-01-22
  9. "Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at State of Delaware

    Pros

    Good work life balance and good benefits

    Cons

    Salary on the lower end

    State of Delaware2014-11-08
  10. "Stable but little opportunity to advance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at State of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    The State provides fairly good benefits as far as vacation and sick leave. There are multiple choices for health insurance and dental insurance and you are vested for retirement after five years? Work environment is comfortable and collegial.

    Cons

    Compenastion is very low even in comparison to similar government positions elsewhere. Because the state is so small, agencies are also small. Coupled with low turnover this results in indrequent opportunities for advancement.

    Continue reading
    State of Delaware2014-08-28
Found 12 reviews