State of Georgia Department of Human Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Georgia Department of Human Resources Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
State of Georgia Department of Human Resources CEO Robyn Crittenden
Robyn Crittenden
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not much growth opportunities, low pay(in 10 reviews)

  • "The clients aren't being serviced as they should be because upper management makes it impossible to reach agents(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Company goal was to help displace students and they paid well.

    Cons

    Child placement was interrupted if they were moved. Child should keep the same tutor.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-07-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A hard journey to ride..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Benefits , pension, holidays, experience, people

    Cons

    Lack of communication No growth Feels like i joined the army No voice or opinion Leadership needs to change Stressful and sometimes hostile place No change due to rigid attitudes No HR Support No accountability for leaders

    Advice to Management

    Clean house so that DHS brand can be better, leaders too complacent or act like bullies. Visit your locations.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-05-01
  3. "Job really means something at DHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    If you have a passion to help others rather than just working a job, this is the place for you. Every Georgia resident that needs help can get it in some form at DHS, so the job really matters in making others lives better. Even in IT, there are not a lot of OT, weekend work, etc. since it is a Government job.

    Cons

    Being government, the pay is below standard. Perks are not what they used to be for government jobs. Raises are inconsistent and based almost solely on what the Governor wants to push through congress.

    Advice to Management

    With perks being cut, the base pay needs to be increased.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-02-28
  4. "Hard but meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CPS Case Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Increased pay Meaningful work Paid time off and paid over time

    Cons

    Often have to work late Sometimes there is no direction for new employees

    Advice to Management

    Help the new employees get settled into their job more

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-02-01
  5. "Good oportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Benefits leave and holidays good

    Cons

    Pay probably could be better

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-01-30
  6. "Typical state government workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    You serve the citizens of Georgia

    Cons

    Lots of typical government bureaucracy

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-01-15
  7. "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time

    Pros

    Benefits was good. I worked close to home

    Cons

    Management was unorganized I came in doing one position and ended up doing two position and my pay did not increase. Minimum training, they told me to refer to my handbook and when a mistake occurred I was blamed and was written up. When it was time to break me from my position no one seemed like they wanted to. They whole staff had bad attitudes and I was a called a "little girls constantly" so I had to resign due to...

    Show More
    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-12-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just starting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time

    Pros

    Like working there so far

    Cons

    No performance pay increases, department hasn't had increase in years

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-10-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Child support agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time

    Pros

    Job stability, weekend off

    Cons

    Not much growth opportunities, low pay

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-10-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Cobb, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Job Stability ; Paid Holidays; awesome supervisor

    Cons

    Pay ; Messy Co- workers; unrealistic expectations

    Advice to Management

    Please consider the workers who are out on the battlefield when the unrealistic goals are being decided. At least give a pay raise or lower the job expectations. Consider our mental health when deciding these rules and be fair.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-10-20
Found 107 reviews