State of Georgia Department of Human Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Georgia Department of Human Resources Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
State of Georgia Department of Human Resources CEO Robyn Crittenden
Robyn Crittenden
1 Ratings
  1. "Miserable Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources

    Pros

    It’s a paycheck that pays the bills.

    Cons

    Absolutely everything! Micromanaging, unethical policies, hostile and violent culture, excessive mandatory overtime, high caseloads, unreasonable expectations, high turnover rates, low wages, no efficiency, semi-monthly pay, overtime paid two months later, and dead-end job.

    Advice to Management

    They don’t care about advice. They rule with an iron fist and iron clad policies.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely Micromanaging, Meager Wage, No Growth, Worst Agency Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Economic Support Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s job If you need quick income.

    Cons

    Everything! The pay is meager. Management is trained to micromanage. Employees are forced to work Mandatory Overtime (50 hours per week) starting January through October. Over time is paid two months after you have worked it. They will short change you. The agency has an extremely high turnover rate. Every employee working as a ESS is unhappy and miserable. I don’t recommend anyone to work at this agency. It’s a corrupt...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go to hell!

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-07-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A hard journey to ride..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits , pension, holidays, experience, people

    Cons

    Lack of communication No growth Feels like i joined the army No voice or opinion Leadership needs to change Stressful and sometimes hostile place No change due to rigid attitudes No HR Support No accountability for leaders

    Advice to Management

    Clean house so that DHS brand can be better, leaders too complacent or act like bullies. Visit your locations.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-05-01
  4. "Job really means something at DHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you have a passion to help others rather than just working a job, this is the place for you. Every Georgia resident that needs help can get it in some form at DHS, so the job really matters in making others lives better. Even in IT, there are not a lot of OT, weekend work, etc. since it is a Government job.

    Cons

    Being government, the pay is below standard. Perks are not what they used to be for government jobs. Raises are inconsistent and based almost solely on what the Governor wants to push through congress.

    Advice to Management

    With perks being cut, the base pay needs to be increased.

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-02-28
  5. "Hard but meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CPS Case Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Increased pay Meaningful work Paid time off and paid over time

    Cons

    Often have to work late Sometimes there is no direction for new employees

    Advice to Management

    Help the new employees get settled into their job more

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-02-01
  6. "Good oportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits leave and holidays good

    Cons

    Pay probably could be better

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-01-30
  7. "Typical state government workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You serve the citizens of Georgia

    Cons

    Lots of typical government bureaucracy

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2019-01-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time

    Pros

    Benefits was good. I worked close to home

    Cons

    Management was unorganized I came in doing one position and ended up doing two position and my pay did not increase. Minimum training, they told me to refer to my handbook and when a mistake occurred I was blamed and was written up. When it was time to break me from my position no one seemed like they wanted to. They whole staff had bad attitudes and I was a called a "little girls constantly" so I had to resign due to...

    Show More
    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-12-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Just starting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time

    Pros

    Like working there so far

    Cons

    No performance pay increases, department hasn't had increase in years

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-10-27
  10. "Former DHS Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at State of Georgia Department of Human Resources full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, paid time off, benefits, holidays

    Cons

    pay, pay increases, workload, leadership

    Advice to Management

    hire better leadership

    State of Georgia Department of Human Resources2018-10-23
Found 109 reviews