State of Idaho Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Idaho Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
Brad Little
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is low, but retirement benefits make up for it(in 4 reviews)

  • "Upper management at central office is ruining the division(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Idaho full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, low cost health insurance.

    Cons

    I only have 40 hours to give, there is too much to do and not enough time.

    Advice to Management

    Adapt to the changing workforce. Provide benefits and recruit the younger generation rather than recruiting end of career employees.

    State of Idaho2019-06-05
  2. "State employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grants Operations Analyst in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Idaho full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and job security.

    Cons

    It depends on the department, but it cam take uears to make real change.

    State of Idaho2019-06-08
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Idaho full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers who care and help you perform to your best ability.

    Cons

    Top level agency supervisors do not keep other professionals accountable. Compensation is low but is steadily getting better with consistent merit pay raises by the Legislature. Benefit and retirement package is one of the best.

    Advice to Management

    Learn constructive communication skills to provide advice to professionals who tend to be arrogant with co-workers, other professionals, and front line staff.

    State of Idaho2019-03-29
  4. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor in Idaho Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Idaho full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved working with people with disabilities to help them find employment. It was good for the soul. Decent benefits and stability though. Nice 8-5, M-F hours.

    Cons

    The pay was rough. I started with a masters degree at about $17. My wage went up with additional training but it took about 3 years and was still pretty rough.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay. If it weren’t for that I’d probably still be there!

    State of Idaho2019-03-07
  5. "Program Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at State of Idaho for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starting job, great fellow employees who are happy to meet with you

    Cons

    Poor Management skills with sub par ability to seek viable options towards goals, as well as not conducting due diligence when reviewing employees

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    State of Idaho2018-12-12
  6. "Self Reliance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Self Reliance Specialist in Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State of Idaho full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, stable pay & schedule. Paid holidays, sick time & vacation time. Great health benefits.

    Cons

    Business office located in Boise Idaho makes decisions to promote their own agendas without regard to long time employees. They shut down entire office locations putting multiple people out of jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate long term employees instead of taking advantage of them & then treating them like they are disposable.

    State of Idaho2018-12-08
  7. "Clinician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Clinician in Lewiston, ID

      I worked at State of Idaho full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      State job, good benefits and retirement

      Cons

      Poor middle management, favoritism, always short staffed, do not listen to changes that need to be made.

      Advice to Management

      listen to advice of consumers and other employees.

      State of Idaho2018-11-30
    • "Financial specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at State of Idaho part-time

      Pros

      Good team of people, great benefits.

      Cons

      Limited growth, be low average wages.

      State of Idaho2018-08-22
    • "Deputy Attorney General"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at State of Idaho full-time

        Pros

        Great work/life balance and supportive work environment.

        Cons

        Salary increases and advancement are slow.

        State of Idaho2018-06-04
      • "Safe, Boring and they don't play by the rules"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at State of Idaho full-time

        Pros

        Stability and great retirement benefits

        Cons

        Boring work and managers don't think employment rules apply to them.

        Advice to Management

        Don't ask questions of other managers that you know violate federal employment guidelines!

        State of Idaho2018-05-23
      Found 59 reviews