State of Illinois "governor" Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Illinois Employee Reviews about "governor"

Updated Sep 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
State of Illinois CEO Bruce Rauner (no image)
Bruce Rauner
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of good benefits (if you are salaried), low-stress work environment(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits, Great Pay and fast environment(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours others with terrible attitudes(in 10 reviews)

  • "4 year pay freeze by billionaire governor that is trying to crush the middle-class(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "governor"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Office Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Illinois full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay for experience and education.

    Cons

    No overtime. 4 year pay freeze by billionaire governor that is trying to crush the middle-class.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more younger staff as the state work force is pretty much mostly staff nearing retirement.

    State of Illinois2018-09-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Licensing Investigator I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State of Illinois full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, holidays off. Lazy supervisors who don't show up to work most the time, nor even care, so that makes our job easier because the demands are just to show up and breathe.

    Cons

    Haven't had a raise in 4.5 years due to frozen raises by our shady governor even though they are in our contract. State doesn't have to honor contracts! Supervisors with little or no education that are politically hired, not deserved of the position. The ones I have can't even use Microsoft Word, nor know how to scan, or even write a complete sentence. H.S. educations making $100,000+ and have no management or... supervisor skills and lack common sense. Push on and work for a government that appreciates their employees, actually gives raises, and gives a darn about their employees!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most of them should be fired or laid off! Give middle or bottom employees who actually work a raise and make a better habit of not having 4 supervisors for 2 people. You're a joke!

    State of Illinois2018-02-03
  3. "What can you do?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rehabilitation Counselor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Illinois full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of great benefits. Able to assist people in need. Really makes a difference! I love it!

    Cons

    Governor has stopped our step increase which make the newer employees get paid 50% of our regular salaries. Union seems to always have to fight for rights. It’s a little scary because we’re worried about striking! If we strike... we don’t get paid. Who can live like that?

    Advice to Management

    Not a management issue.. strictly politics!

    State of Illinois2018-01-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "State employment is not all that is expected..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Services Caseworker in Sterling, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Illinois

    Pros

    Nice benefits, including a generous holiday schedule, sick and vacation time. Once you have passed a probationary period, job security is fairly solid.

    Cons

    Being in a union means that promotions are decided entirely by seniority, not merit. As a result, the management structure is arcane & ineffective. The current governor dislikes the union, so we are currently facing a potential third year without a contract

    Advice to Management

    Instead of targeting state workers themselves as a solution to budget woes, reassess operational practices to make this bloated bureaucracy function more efficiently.

    State of Illinois2017-05-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Services Caseworker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Illinois full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people that work there and the clients

    Cons

    Governor Rauner is an idiot

    Advice to Management

    Stop holding the budget hostage to try to bust the union

    State of Illinois2017-04-23
  6. "Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State of Illinois full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, great holiday pay and sick time. 37.5 hour work week. You learn how the government operates.

    Cons

    No one wants to make a decision; when the new governor is appointed work stops until the new governor directs his policy. Some union workers are hard workers and some not so much. It can be a negative work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Something needs to be done with the ASCME union.

    State of Illinois2016-01-23
  7. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Service Caseworker in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Illinois full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Agency offers great pay. In fact, Illinois has one of the biggest salaries for state workers. I worked as a human service caseworker so I didn't worry about working evenings or weekends which gave me no stress. Room for promotions and moves within company.

    Cons

    The applying process can be confusing and lengthy. With state employment, politics come into play a lot, especially when a different governor takes office. This means that you worry about budget cuts and layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Having an union is nice, however, it makes some supervisors lazy. Please do you job and help employees with issues.

    State of Illinois2015-07-22
  8. "PSA Public Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN/HFSN/PSA in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Illinois for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement if you work hard

    Cons

    Office politics of course that go all the way up to the Governor

    Advice to Management

    None

    State of Illinois2015-04-28
Found 8 reviews