State of Michigan Department of Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

State of Michigan Department of Technology Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
60%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
State of Michigan Department of Technology Director David B. Behen
David B. Behen
1 Rating
  1. "Reporting Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Reporting Analyst in Detroit, MI

    I worked at State of Michigan Department of Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Secure employment and wages job

    Cons

    Lack of career advancement opportunty

    State of Michigan Department of Technology2019-11-08
  2. "ITSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - ITSA in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State of Michigan Department of Technology for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to understand a lot of projects which the government is working on

    Cons

    One of the worst places to work. The timings are extremely rigid with very little flexibility. There was no training plan in place. Manager gots irritated when I asked for work. Interns are left hanging most of the time with no clear direction. Also if you have a problem with the manager, your voice is not heard. As an intern, you are completely at the whims of the manager. Worst is the Exit interview is not held by the HR department but the manager itself. This place is definitely not for people who are ambitious. It is totally for people who want a relaxed work place.

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2018-07-15
  3. "Low hourly wage (by industry comparison), treated like salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Programmer/Analyst in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Michigan Department of Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable employer. Insulated from economic downturns.

    Cons

    The pay leaves something to be desired. Even though you are hourly, you're unofficially expected to work extra hours as needed, often without pay as overtime is rarely allowed.

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2018-07-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "IT Support Tier 1 Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Michigan Department of Technology for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job security, and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Disorganized management, and little training.

    State of Michigan Department of Technology2017-06-16
  5. "Great to get your foot in the IT world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Student Assistant in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at State of Michigan Department of Technology part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its a great opportunity to get experience in IT-in my case I needed on the job experience with application development. You get to see a lot of potential career paths and the hours are extremely flexible.

    Cons

    Students are treated somewhat as less of employees. You also cannot work over 129 hours a month-this includes months where there are 31 days. You do the same work as regular employees but get paid far less. Obviously no benefits or holiday pay of any kind.

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2016-11-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on which department you're in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at State of Michigan Department of Technology

    Pros

    Stable but NOT the 'golden ticket' it used to be.

    Cons

    Inconsistent from working in Lansing to Warren, MI. Things 'get done' in Lansing where in Warren they're over worked.

    State of Michigan Department of Technology2016-10-10
  7. "Senior ProgrammerAnalyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Programmer Analyst in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at State of Michigan Department of Technology for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the camaraderie of the staff and environment.

    Cons

    Not always clear direction or stated expectations

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2016-01-25
  8. "positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at State of Michigan Department of Technology

    Pros

    I set my own hours and I had a lot of down time to do my homework, read, and do a lot of things that I wanted. Low supervision and allowed me to help around the office.

    Cons

    Little supervision with little responsibility. I would ask for work to do but would get very few assignments. They expected me to initiate my own work/projects, but I never knew where to really fit in to the office.

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2016-01-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start a career for a recent college graduate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ITPA11 in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at State of Michigan Department of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and management Flexible hours Challenging work

    Cons

    Limited training opportunities Partial tuition reimbursement program

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2013-08-06
  10. "Great place to work if you are only looking for a stable place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Specialist in Lansing, MI

    I have been working at State of Michigan Department of Technology

    Pros

    It's stable. If that's what you are looking for.

    Cons

    No training. Limited\no real technical growth path

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan Department of Technology2009-04-17
Found 13 reviews