State of Michigan "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Michigan Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
State of Michigan Governor Richard Dale "Rick" Snyder
Richard Dale "Rick" Snyder
230 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No office perks that you would see in the private sector(in 27 reviews)

  • "There is no room for advancement or opportunity to expand on professional skills via the intersection of other disciplines (I(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Communications Manager 

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, love my coworkers,

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons

    State of Michigan2019-05-22
  2. "Hardest Job I ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can negotiate starting salary. A few good colleagues. Great benefits. Good technology and 24/7 IT help. Unlimited opportunity to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Insufficient training, feel like a production worker. employees aren't valued. Managers not leaders.

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan2020-01-23
  3. "Nepotism by management !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Eligibility Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay and benefits are great!

    Cons

    Management and rude clients, make the job stressful

    State of Michigan2019-11-11
  4. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and compensation. Work and life balance.

    Cons

    Not much career advancement. Difficult to manage long-term state employees who can feel entitled to everything.

    State of Michigan2019-03-15
  5. "Great lifestyle, lower wage than private sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forensic Psychiatrist in Saline, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at State of Michigan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits--BCBSM Medical, dental, vision, 401K with percentage matching Good lifestyle, laid back schedule, basically 9:00 am - 4:30 pm with an hour break for lunch Additional pay for on-call hours (~1-2 times per month) Social network there is friendly and supportive Opportunities for in-house training and CME Doctors are respected on the inpatient units

    Cons

    EMR is not great and can be a time-waster Job can be high stress for stretches of time due to violent patients Over time, hospital has been run more and more by directors in Lansing vs. in-house personnel, which has caused lower job satisfaction Pay rate of $88.88 is less than in the private sector No on-site cafeteria

    Continue reading
    State of Michigan2019-03-24
  6. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    competitive pay, great benefits, flexible work hours

    Cons

    Promotional opportunities are limited due to not promoting based on objective criteria

    State of Michigan2019-02-14
  7. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Attorney General in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great as are the hours.

    Cons

    The salary is not great. Room for advancement is minimal and there is a lack of flexibility.

    State of Michigan2018-08-08
  8. "MPSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, standard or flex schedules, great benefits.

    Cons

    Very slow movent if you're trying to climb a career ladder

    State of Michigan2018-05-09
  9. "Enjoyed working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, good working hours

    Cons

    Bad management, lot of micro management

    State of Michigan2018-05-03
  10. "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, great benefits and vacation

    Cons

    job limitations due to term limits

    State of Michigan2018-01-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 62 reviews