State of Montana "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Montana Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
State of Montana CEO Steve Bullock
Steve Bullock
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, but Montana is nearly lowest in pay in the nation across the board(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management do not take front line staff advice or input(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary 

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Package and room for advancement.

    Cons

    No room for negotiation of salary.

    State of Montana2019-06-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stable Jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Retirement, Good Health Insurance

    Cons

    Lower Salary than the private sector

    State of Montana2019-02-21
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Occupational Health and Safety Specialist 

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, above average pay

    Cons

    Typical government politics, nothing to big

    State of Montana2019-02-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "CPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Missoula, MT

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, lots of flexibility.

    Cons

    Little room to move up.

    State of Montana2019-01-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "state health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Montana full-time

    Pros

    great benefits, time off, holidays almost monthly

    Cons

    bureaucracy where skills and experience are overlooked for who you know.

    Advice to Management

    too many middle management supervisors

    State of Montana2018-12-21
  6. "Working for State of Montana"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for the State of Montana has been an amazing journey. The position I was hired to do was amazing at first, granting me the opportunity to help a great deal of State of Montana citizens. My job focus has shifted in the recent past, but it is still a very rewarding place to work. Benefits are great, annual leave is great, and coworkers have been largely very positive.

    Cons

    It is an always-changing environment, so if you dont like change, I would urge against it.

    State of Montana2018-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Workforce Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time

    Pros

    Very rewarding working with job seekers to help them obtain new jobs, help with resumes and interview skills. Working with employers to help with hiring issues and obtaining the most qualified employees. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    There doesn't seem to be a lot of respect for what we do, salary wise. This is a union position and the union is pretty much worthless.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at competitive salaries to see that this position is underpaid. Relatively inexperienced new hires are paid the same as someone with years of experience. Pay, vis-a-vis, other Dept. of Labor divisions doesn't even compare. New college grads in other divisions can start out 50% higher than this position, which also requires a college degree.

    State of Montana2017-12-21
  8. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at State of Montana full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Can sometimes be slow going

    State of Montana2017-02-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Its a Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Helena, MT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and good perks of vacation and holiday/sick leave.

    Cons

    People are slow to get excited about anything, They barely want to do the job they have, and when they do manage to muster the energy to do something, they do it grudgingly or poorly, and are resistant to change

    Advice to Management

    Get some fresh life into all departments and maybe things will get done. Hold people accountable for actions and actually start documenting bad behavior or slacking off instead of skirting around the issues or working around the lowest common denominators.

    State of Montana2017-01-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Government Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Appraiser 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at State of Montana full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and flexible schedules.

    Cons

    Low pay, but Montana is nearly lowest in pay in the nation across the board. Very high turnover...because of the low pay.

    State of Montana2016-10-22
Found 13 reviews