State of Nevada Employee Reviews about "private sector"

Updated Nov 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
41%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
State of Nevada Governor  Brian Sandoval
Brian Sandoval
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits for now, essential, lots of ot(in 20 reviews)

  • "Very good benefits and job security(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You are required to furlough once a month(in 15 reviews)

  • "Other benefits are paltry compared to the private sector or even other law enforcement agencies(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "private sector"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great.

      May 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The state offers good benefits.

      Cons

      The state salaries are lower than private sector.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Work Environment and Benefits

      Nov 4, 2020 - Statistician II in Carson City, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work environment was wonderful, and the benefits were great. Also, there were opportunities to work with other departments within the agency, and projects were interesting. Great work-life balance and many opportunities exist to apply to other positions.

      Cons

      Pay is quite low compared to private sector jobs, and I saw quite a bit of my paycheck go to my retirement fund. The issue with pay is to be expected to some degree, but the local cost of living has increased substantially, while State pay has not.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      State of Nevada LEO

      Dec 2, 2019 - Law Enforcement Officer in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Department of Public Safety boasts some of the best equipment in the country. The staff that are there are deeply committed to the values the organization talks about. There is a large degree of mobility to move positions both laterally and vertically.

      Cons

      PERS is a brutally high deduction (around 23%). Other benefits are paltry compared to the private sector or even other law enforcement agencies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Still a great place

      Jun 10, 2019 - Administrative Assistant in Carson City, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great community of people work there. Job stability is great and the retirement is great.

      Cons

      Because of the job security and it being a government job, it pays less than the private sector for a lot of positions and the employees of the State are constantly complaining about it. There’s also an alarming amount of lazy workers throughout that can make it hard to concentrate on doing a good job when you sit across from someone who spends eight hours a day on their cell phone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Do your homework about the agency before accepting a job offer

      Jun 15, 2019 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The State can be a great place to work but only if you make the right Agency choice.

      Cons

      PERS (retirement system) is excellent but if you have significant private sector experience (and social security credits) do the math before accepting a job. Your social security benefit WILL be reduced by your PERS benefit because of the federal windfall provision statute. This is actually a big deal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Really depends on the agency

      Jun 25, 2017 - Auditor II in Carson City, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In the right agency, there is amazing scheduling, great co-workers that care about their jobs, not the worst insurance in the world (better than what was offered when I was working in casinos). The work life balance, even at the worst of agencies is amazing, for the most part, you are guaranteed 40 hours a week (if I were to do the same job in the private sector, I'd probably average 50 to 60 a week), amazing vacation, sick, and holiday leave, if you care more about spending time with your family than a huge paycheck, this is definitely where you want to look.

      Cons

      The pay is a lot less than the private sector (though, that is somewhat worth it given the amazing work/life balance). Also, depending on the agency, the work environment can be horrible. One agency I worked at was so draconian in their time keeping that I had to track any project I was working on down to the minute (and that included keeping track, down to the minute, of all the time I was using to keep track of time). I understand you need to know what your employees are doing when you are paying them, but that is taking it too far (fortunately, this is not all agencies, I'm not even sure if it is the majority). Also, at some of the larger agencies, there is definitely a clique culture. I'll be blunt, one agency I worked at had more high school drama going on than when I was actually in high school.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      State Worker - Public Servant

      May 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Reno, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are pretty good compared to Private Sector jobs. In at 8 out at 5 most days. I work a flexible schedule and travel throughout the state.

      Cons

      HR does NOT work for you. They are only interested in siding with management and documenting any situation in an effort to fire you at will.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      After a while too hard to leave

      Jul 29, 2015 - IT Professional in Carson City, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leave packages, 3+ weeks a year. 11 paid holidays. People are usually great to work with.

      Cons

      Pay is lower than private sector. 1% raise this year is mainly a joke.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Enjoyed my time there

      Sep 3, 2015 - Administrative Assistant II in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Benefits -Relaxed Environment -Great People to work with -Plenty of career advancement opportunity

      Cons

      -Pay is not as competitive as private sector

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bureau of Licensure & Certification

      May 14, 2015 - Receptionist in Reno, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits. Good work/life balance. In at 8:00 out at 5:00. Nice people to work with.

      Cons

      Low pay in comparison to the private sector.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 English Reviews

    Work at State of Nevada? Share Your Experiences

    State of Nevada logo
    or