State of Oregon Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Oregon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
John Kitzhaber
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "The state has a great benefits package including comprehensive health insurance plans(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good benefits (insurance, pension, etc(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "This position was located in Salem(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low pay and low respect for the work you do(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Specialist II in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and welcoming.

    Cons

    None really, depends on your job but mine is good. There are different types of Compliance Specialists so be sure to research.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    State of Oregon2019-05-03
  2. "During Trial Service Never Miss Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Service Representative III in Portland, OR
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Oregon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    AMAZING benefits: Union Representation, FEMLA, ( after 6 months), PERS (after 6 months), Full medical, vision, dental, long and short term disability.

    Cons

    Trial Service is a challenge in this department. Whatever you do, don't take time off or you will be released from your trial period. I hear they have lost great people that way. Management is quirky and weird & not a good way, However, the favorites never have anything to worry about.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair. Listen to your employees. If you need to talk about any employee issues do it privately. I always felt bad hearing my co-workers receiving a scolding out in the open.

    State of Oregon2019-04-29
  3. "It’s the state."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HSS2 in Salem, OR

    I worked at State of Oregon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits were great.

    Cons

    Policy and procedures change by the minute.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people not robots.

    State of Oregon2019-04-27
  4. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Child Support Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Some managers are willing to give you a flexible schedule if you suck up

    Cons

    If you are a food worker you get the reward of doing others work. They don’t promote on ability but on who you know. Very toxic work environment. No one is held accountable for the quality of work.

    State of Oregon2019-05-13
  5. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Fair salary, good benefits, flexible for families

    Cons

    Salary caps, outdated tech

    State of Oregon2019-02-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Steady but underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Steady employment. There's very few ways you can lose your job working for the State. Opportunity to be a servant.

    Cons

    No merit increases - you're awarded for staying on for another year, not working harder or better. Union over protects - I've witness the Union (SEIU 503) protect people guilty of sexual harassment and workplace violence when in the private sector, they would be fired, let alone poor performance. Comparably low pay - with the exception that you are likely guaranteed to have a job for the rest of your career, something...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stiff-arm the Union. Fire people for poor work performance. Fire people for violating employment law. Give raises only to people who deserve it, but be generous in doing so.

    State of Oregon2019-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits and Job Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time

    Pros

    -Job security -Good benefits -Work-life Balance -Flexible hours

    Cons

    -Low pay compared to private sector -Bureaucracy -Complacent and incompetent long-time employees

    Advice to Management

    -Standardize training -Provide employee handbooks

    State of Oregon2019-01-14
  8. "Sr. Technical Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State of Oregon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good people and I learned a lot to advance my skills.

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything negative.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees concerns.

    State of Oregon2018-12-31
  9. "Administration first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good money, benefits, retirement. Opportunity to earn comp time and as much overtime as you want.

    Cons

    Management/administration DO NOT care about their employees. Their needs come first and all you are is a warm body.

    State of Oregon2019-01-13
  10. "social services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State of Oregon full-time

    Pros

    Good insurance plans and coverage

    Cons

    interpersonal leadership is missing due to lack of decision making

    State of Oregon2018-12-28
Found 167 reviews