State of Vermont Reviews | Glassdoor

State of Vermont Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
State of Vermont CEO Phil Scott
Phil Scott
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "So new employees don't have any work to do, but have to sit at their desk and pretend to work(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Services Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Vermont full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Employer Potential Career Growth Pay is great Dress Code is Easy

    Cons

    I don't have any cons for this job.

    State of Vermont2019-04-22
  2. "Great Jobs for New Grads and Parents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Vermont full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and job flexibility / stability

    Cons

    No consistent rewards for top performance, lower salary than private sector

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to Limit favoritism and nepotisim, deal with consistently poor performance issues

    State of Vermont2019-08-27
  3. "Great Career Opportunities but Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Vermont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Career Opportunities. Once you pass your 6-month probation, it is relatively easy to either get a promotion within your department or apply to a different department. -Paid holidays and annual leave. 11-12 paid holidays per year and for non-management positions, you usually earn about 3.5 hours of sick time and about 3.5 hours of annual leave time each pay period (bi-weekly). -Diversity- Many of the jobs... don't require a degree as long as you have relevant experience and the pay is better than you'd get with a private organization with no degree. This helps with diversifying the office as individuals with all types of (educational) backgrounds are welcomed. -Work/life balance- although there is usually an opportunity for overtime, it is not expected. Most people leave right at 4:30 and don't have to check emails/answer phones at home or while on vacation.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Unprofessional work environment. At least with my department, management and the union have not learned to work together. Unprofessional behavior goes without disciplinary actions especially if the unprofessional employee is a union member. -Lack of transparency with management. The phrase "we are working on it" gets thrown around a lot despite issues being identified and escalated by staff. Changes happen... within the department that go unannounced. -Favoritism. When applying for a promotion within your department, if you aren't a favorite then you will not get the job despite being more qualified or having a higher degree than required.

    Show More
    State of Vermont2019-07-13
  4. "Terrific work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 

    I have been working at State of Vermont full-time

    Pros

    Solid benefits and pension program

    Cons

    Salaries are typically less than similar jobs in VT and nationally

    State of Vermont2019-06-30
  5. "Good internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at State of Vermont part-time

    Pros

    Great experience, great people, and I got to be involved with everything

    Cons

    The Agency of Agriculture wasn't well organized, and I didn't always have enough work

    State of Vermont2019-05-21
  6. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Systems Applications Developer 

    I worked at State of Vermont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good teams and friendly environment

    Cons

    Lower pay in tech fields

    State of Vermont2019-05-21
  7. "As a Quality Control Specialist, I reviewed the cases of clients who were receiving SNAP benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control in Saint Albans, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State of Vermont full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job was safe, annual raises were guaranteed, and the work was relatively independent. There were good benefits and a pension.

    Cons

    As with most public sector jobs, the salary cap is fairly low and the pay is based primarily on employment duration instead of performance.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    State of Vermont2019-05-21
  8. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Probation Officer in Rutland, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Vermont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career employees varied work day

    Cons

    Idiot supervisors too much paperwork

    Advice to Management

    Hire smarter supervisors that are mature.

    State of Vermont2019-04-18
  9. "Correctional Officer for Vermont: Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer 

    I worked at State of Vermont full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was great (especially the overtime), and I worked with amazing colleagues and supervisors who genuinely cared about me and my coworkers. If it wasn't for my amazing team, I wouldn't have lasted as long as I did.

    Cons

    The job was incredibly stressful, and the lack of staff at the facility made overtime difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Think of ways to retain staff, or find better people to recruit.

    State of Vermont2019-04-06
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Examiner in Brookfield, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State of Vermont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really liked the Job. Great people.

    Cons

    Very strict programs can be cookie cutter

    State of Vermont2019-03-27
Found 90 reviews