Station Casinos Employee Reviews about "casino"

Updated Nov 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Station Casinos Chairman and CEO Frank J. Fertitta III
Frank J. Fertitta III
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "I can't wait to start working with my fellow team members at the Red Rock Casino(in 39 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and you can transfer to different properties if you want(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company closure of some properties and not calling team members that were laid off(in 26 reviews)

  • "I wouldn't say that there aren't any cons in the station casino world(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "casino"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Keno supervisor

      Oct 14, 2018 - Keno Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Station casinos has an excellent culture in it's workplace. The benifits are great, the people are amazing, and the place itself if down right beautiful.

      Cons

      I wouldn't say that there aren't any cons in the station casino world. I love what I do and the people are amazing.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Treatment of PT employees unfair

      Nov 19, 2018 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not one thing at this moment

      Cons

      Managers and owners dont care about employees. WE are the Back Bone of this casino and we are treated like the scum beneath their feet. We are expected to do the work of 3 people, most of the servers are exhausted. We are over worked and under paid. Favoritism with same Nationality (race) Cutting Labor at any cost.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Stations: could be better, could be worse

      Jan 18, 2009 - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good health, dental and vision benefits package, for now. Layoffs have been sporadic. There are opportunities for lateral transfers between casinos, but advancement up is even more dependent on who you know rather than what you know or how you performed. This company used to be a growth performer, but they took their eyes off the ball when they started developing mega resorts off the strip. Its best performers are typically the smaller casinos in lower/lower middle income neighborhoods. Boulder Station and Texas Station may be in bad neighborhoods, but they bring in the consistent revenue. Red Rock Station may be the flagship, but it sucks wind on performance. The place is often a beautiful but empty symbol of an overreaching ownership.

      Cons

      Lower pay than other casinos. Incompetent senior and middle management. This company hires primarily based on who you know, not what you know. They are obsessed with keeping the unions out of the casino, but their attitude and treatment of workers will likely drive employees to the unions in the end. They hire many illegal workers. Nice people, but this results in lots of employees who cannot speak english. Further, the company rewards this by offering free citizenship assistance. The end result is a circle of lower pay for everyone because the illegals have to take whatever pay they can.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      AWESOME COMPANY!

      Jun 20, 2017 - Status Board Operator in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Today was my first day and I gotta say I already feel like I belong in this company. Today was processing paper work day. Tomorrow all new hires will participate in the all-day New Hire Celebration..and get paid too..How cool is that?! I love that everyone is so professional starting from Human Resources, (Diana) to Housekeeping management and also employees that smile at you in the hallways. The girl at the uniform room was sweet and funny. She helped me pick out the right size for my uniform. One of the housekeeping managers named Michael is super cool, at the same time very professional. I can't wait to start working with my fellow team members at the Red Rock Casino.

      Cons

      On-call but it's okay because they have opportunities for advancement. I can't wait to be full time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Satisfied Employee

      Jan 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Station promotes a relaxed and uplifting culture, one of service and that follows the golden rule. People work hard but understand the need for balance between life at work and home. Within my immediate work environment, as well as any time I am at the casino properties, I feel encouraged to be helpful and ambitious.

      Cons

      Investment in employees, in terms of compensation and information, is acceptable but could be improved. It seems too often there are surprises (i.e. reorganization, large investments, individual and company performance expectations vs. results) that are sometimes unpleasant.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Meh, it's not the worst.

      Jan 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in North Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, pretty set schedule. Transferring and moving up is easy enough. Community within the Individual casino that I work for is awesome.

      Cons

      Hilariously understaffed and stretched workforce. Job Coaches are not held accountable for their quality of training so others have to pick up the slack that they get paid for. Departments with no supervisor have supervisor duties being handled by under qualified team members with no extra pay.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Station Casinos - No Place I'd Rather Be!!!!!

      Jan 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Station Casinos' has the best culture in the gaming industry. We are truly one family. With 20 properties in the Las Vegas valley, the opportunities for growth are endless.

      Cons

      By being a leader in the "Locals" market, in certain positions the salary wage is lower than the "Luxury Resorts" on the strip. I think people forget that although both are a part of the casino/ hospitality industry the demographic and guest's experience are different.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good to get foot in the door.

      Oct 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free uniforms, free meals, free benefits (for team member only), opportunties to transfer and advancement are endless.

      Cons

      Directors and upper management don't engage with employees instead are stuck polishing their laurels or in ivory towers. They will spend $100,000 to have 80 inch televisions installed throughout the casino but will not have floors fixed or essential equipment fixed. Many employees are given uniforms with holes in them and are told nothing can be done about it yet if a Chairman player has a complaint they will bend over backwards to appease them. Station Casinos has forgotten the biggest and best asset of any company is the employees!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A company with great potential yet can't get consistent quality Manager.

      Dec 5, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good benefits, and has a very loyal customer base. The team members were awesome to work with and felt very much like a family.

      Cons

      Constant turnover specifically in the managerial positions which caused constant confusion and very little consistency. Definitely a entry-level casino to work at in Vegas.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Term without Cause

      Mar 16, 2018 - Guest Service Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of fun people to work with. Casino guest being mostly local was a big bonus.

      Cons

      Stations have a habit of terminating people without cause. You have to be prepared to walk in one day and for no reason be told you no longer have a job. They will fire you and tell you are rehire-able and encourage you to go to the website and apply for another position.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Station Casinos Job Seekers

    Beverage Server
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Slot Marketing Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Station Casinos? Share Your Experiences

    Station Casinos logo
    or