Station Casinos Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Nov 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Station Casinos Chairman and CEO Frank J. Fertitta III
Frank J. Fertitta III
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "I can't wait to start working with my fellow team members at the Red Rock Casino(in 39 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and you can transfer to different properties if you want(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company closure of some properties and not calling team members that were laid off(in 26 reviews)

  • "I wouldn't say that there aren't any cons in the station casino world(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "team members"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Benefits

      Nov 4, 2020 - Human Resources in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture of the company and benefits is unmatched.

      Cons

      Company closure of some properties and not calling team members that were laid off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great opportunities with training and advancement

      May 12, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are looking to grow a career, this is a company that loves to keep TMs! There are so many chances to advance and take training courses that allow you to build on your strengths.

      Cons

      Time off for team members wasn't the greatest.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      100% Honesty

      Jan 13, 2020 - Corporate Training Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great frontline team members. Friendly working environment. Benefits are very good

      Cons

      Executive level management is unorganized and at times condescending toward middle management. Executive level does not seem to have open minds in regard to new ideas

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Waste of time

      Mar 30, 2019 - Intern in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent rate of pay, $15/hr

      Cons

      My experience as an intern at Stations has been, in one word, disappointing. If you just need to fulfill your internship requirement for school, then this position is fine. However, if you're looking to learn and grow as a professional in the hospitality industry look elsewhere. You will be promised time with managers and directors, but in reality you will spend the semester shadowing front line workers with even less experience than yourself. Now with regard to the company as a whole and not just the intern position, working here is the perfect way to stagnate your career and earning potential. Workers are underpaid and overworked in all positions, but they stick around because they've been convinced that Stations is "like a family". Any time you hear a company use this term, RUN. All it means is that they will demand loyalty from you and give you nothing in return. Many people haven't seen a raise in years, and their benefits are bordering on offensive. They stripped most benefits during the recession, then never gave them back afterwards because they realized that people would still work for them regardless. This company could very well compensate their employees fairly, but they make the choice to instead blow their money on new nightclubs. When Boyd tried opening the Echelon, they quickly realized that they were in over their heads having no experience with managing a property on the Strip. Unfortunately for Stations, they never came to the same conclusion with Palms. In a desperate attempt to keep the Fertitta grandkids interested in the business, they are hemorrhaging money to open nightclubs and fancy restaurants. Meanwhile, the employees who have dedicated decades to this company have very little to show for it. Hourly team members have only one hope left for fair compensation and it's the unions. Stall negotiations all you want, Stations. Eventually, your employees will prevail.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      DO YOUR HOMEWORK

      Jan 7, 2019 - Operations in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There were no pros during my tenure.

      Cons

      This company is literally one of, if not the worst in the gaming industry. My review is directed at individuals considering the company at an executive or senior leader position. First red flag, the EA you will sign. This offers you no protection, however, allows for the company to transfer you to other properties at will. Think you are starting a job at a premier property, rest assured you will likely be transferred to a lesser property (please look at the full portfolio) at will and be told “it’s for the good of the company” at a moment’s notice. When I say a moment’s you will be told tomorrow to be somewhere else. Second red flag, what is the tenure of the individual that was in the position prior to you, your property’s GM, your corporate counterparts, etc. Average person lasts about two years and then is termed. Third red flag, this is a company with no long-term plan, a lack of direction when it comes to strategic business thought. People are moved and transferred as a fix to underlying business challenges and cultural needs. Instead of adequately addressing for the health of the business someone is fired and another person is swapped in. This leads to an overall culture of chaos management that never subsides. Fourth red flag, you will work a six-day week as a norm and likely 7 days a week. Team members worked to the point of exhaustion, were hospitalized only to get out of the hospital and go right back to work. There is a delight in the “grind” which is sad. Fifth red flag, the inability to provide a cohesive statement on the company’s culture. They will fly the flag of you are family, you are not. Ask what that means, how they live the values, how they empower employees to embody the culture in what they do, etc. Sixth, you have no authority to make a decision. At all. There is a level of micromanaging that is unprecedented. For anyone used to working at an executive level in another organization you are stepping back two job levels minimally. Lastly, please consider the diversity of the senior management team. I ask your consideration not because of sex or skin color, rather for the diversity that makes your company and culture better. People that think differently are accretive to your business. It is okay to look at the business differently. You serve a multitude of guests, recognize that linear thought and action does not serve them and your team. I will not tell anyone not to take a job but REALLY do your homework. Call colleagues who have worked for the company, reach out to contacts on LinkedIn and get honest answers. If you are being placed by a headhunter please realize that their stake is to get you to buy the job so they get paid, they don’t have your interest at heart.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      BEWARE! This company is worst in Las Vegas!

      Jan 2, 2019 - Director in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Other than a few really talented and genuinely caring team members, this place is a disaster to work.

      Cons

      Leadership has no clear direction on company goals. Their Executives come and go like a revolving door, they cannot keep the right talent to stay because they reward and protect those in their inner circle. Beware!

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I wake up every morning, happy about getting to work!

      Dec 21, 2017 - Purchasing Agent in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Station Casinos cares! They care about their team members and every single guest that walks through our doors. There is always room to grow and time to learn new things. They want you to succeed, and they will do whatever they can to make that happen. Stations is my second home, and I can HONESTLY say.. there is no place I would rather be every day. Their love and appreciation for their team members really shines through! Their benefits help support my family and they are always mindful of my home-life, which is extremely beneficial for a single mom. Everyone is treated with RESPECT, it doesn't seem to matter if what level you are in your career, we are all treated as equals! The Values and the support that Stations shows the Las Vegas community, sets a high standard for all other gaming companies in the valley.

      Cons

      The 'Pros' were easy to write... 'Cons' of Stations, seem hard to identify. I would not change a thing about my work day!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Promotions special event coordinator

      Nov 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team members to work with

      Cons

      Not paid well for the amount of hours worked

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stations IT

      Nov 4, 2015 - IT Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After reading some of the reviews from IT, I thought that I would shed some light from another perspective. The CIO, Abe Hong, has an open door policy when it comes to his team members. Where he is a busy man, he will always make time for the team members to discuss what's on their mind. Stations is going through a lot of changes right now, and I believe that the CIO is doing his best to help the team to roll with the changes. Outside of the CIO, the overall atmosphere within Stations IT is fantastic! Once you've been in for a while you really get the 'family' feeling. I think the other thing to mention is that mostly everyone within IT will work until they drop. There is a dedication level that is unparalleled to other gaming companies I have worked for, and its a wonderful feeling to know that everyone will work until the job is completed.

      Cons

      Direction changing within the department. Where its understood that changes do happen, its a bit chaotic sometimes trying to remember which direction we are to move forward in. Again, with the changes happening at Stations, some of this is expected and very understandable. Management truly tries to help ease the changes best as possible.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Station Casinos Corporate

      May 10, 2017 - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best reasons to work for Station Casinos has been the opportunity for my career. From day one, it was made clear that promotions were something that was available. The company likes to promote from within. Station Casinos is very team driven even going as far as to refer to employees as Team Members. Employee is not a word you hear at Station Casinos. There is a very relaxed atmosphere. Our dress code is a reflection of that. I can wear jeans everyday if I like. The Team Member dining room is also a plus. Lunch is provided for everyone. The food is good and the soft serve ice cream is a welcome addition! Every Tuesday, there is a mobile car wash unit available to everyone in the Team Member parking garage. $20 for your car and it gets washed while you work.

      Cons

      While I appreciate my insurance is free, it isn’t the greatest insurance out there. Station Casinos also tends to pay lower than a lot of the industry standards.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Station Casinos Job Seekers

    Beverage Server
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Slot Marketing Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Station Casinos? Share Your Experiences

    Station Casinos logo
    or