Statistics Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Statistics Canada Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada CEO Anil Arora
Anil Arora
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty flexible hours; my manager let me leave earlier as long as I'd make up the hours(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, great people, simple work(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can face difficult residents who oppose doing the census(in 12 reviews)

  • "Most jobs appear in Ottawa Canada(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexible Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time

    Pros

    - You choose your hours - You're responsible for yourself

    Cons

    - You work when people are home, which means evenings and weekends - Can face difficult residents who oppose doing the census

    Statistics Canada2017-08-01
  2. "Co-op work term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Statistics Canada

    Pros

    Very relaxed and easy going

    Cons

    Can be too chill/laid back at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Statistics Canada2016-07-02
  3. "Great job for university students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Census Enumerator in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -independence -self paced -no relocation (location of work depends on where you live)

    Cons

    -Hard to get a raise since the time for this job is only 4 months.

    Statistics Canada2019-11-01
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great you will learn a lot

    Cons

    Slow, slow approvals for using new technologies

    Statistics Canada2019-10-22
  5. "Great recruitment program, not-so-great workplace politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Processor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Statistics Canada invests a lot into training and developing its employees (if you are an EC) - Interesting work - Overall, good workplace culture. People are generally passionate and very knowledgeable

    Cons

    - Bureaucratic - Getting promoted can be difficult, a lot of people spend their entire career there (without changing their mentality) - Navigating the politics can be frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Create a more supportive environment for talent that questions the status quo. I have witnessed/experienced situations where there was reprisal to some degree for (respectfully) challenging or disagreeing with management.

    Statistics Canada2019-11-06
  6. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technician in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very flexible schedule. - Will work around your school schedule. - Great work culture

    Cons

    - Can be very disorganized.

    Statistics Canada2019-10-10
  7. "decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telephone Interviewer in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, nice people there

    Cons

    rude respondents on the phone, this job gave me anxiety

    Advice to Management

    Management was great

    Statistics Canada2019-10-09
  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - GA-STUDENT 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    It is a fun and easy place to work

    Cons

    Sometimes got nothing to do when

    Statistics Canada2019-10-09
  9. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phone Interviewer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada part-time

    Pros

    coworker and supervisor are very nice.

    Cons

    Work hour will not be garenteed

    Statistics Canada2019-10-04
  10. "Excellent benefits, slow pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Research and Support 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits Interesting work given the now innovation radar

    Cons

    Duplication of work across government Pace of work Senior executives

    Statistics Canada2019-10-09
Found 152 reviews