Statistics Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Statistics Canada Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada Chief Statistician Anil Arora
Anil Arora
10 Ratings
  1. "Flexible Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time

    Pros

    - You choose your hours - You're responsible for yourself

    Cons

    - You work when people are home, which means evenings and weekends - Can face difficult residents who oppose doing the census

    Statistics Canada2017-08-01
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Data Dissemination 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Many divisions to experience different projects and expand knowledge.

    Cons

    Horrible parking. Alot of people in high positions are less skilled than ones in lower positions.

    Statistics Canada2019-12-12
  3. "Great job for university students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Census Enumerator in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -independence -self paced -no relocation (location of work depends on where you live)

    Cons

    -Hard to get a raise since the time for this job is only 4 months.

    Statistics Canada2019-11-01
  4. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - GA-STUDENT 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    It is a fun and easy place to work

    Cons

    Sometimes got nothing to do when

    Statistics Canada2019-10-09
  5. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist 

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great management and compassionate coworkers

    Cons

    Internal politics might lead to struggles in promotions

    Statistics Canada2019-06-16
  6. "working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    supportive working environment. interesting work. lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    cafeteria lacks variety and there are not too many healthy choices

    Statistics Canada2019-02-28
  7. "Assistant Manager, Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I held this contract position during both the 2011 & 2016 National Census operation and had an excellent experience. The recruitment and selection process was thorough and clear. There was excellent onboarding and training with support and guidance from Leaders throughout the entire life of the project. An excellent professional experience and one i hope to continue with future Census Operations!

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, steep learning curve if in a role you have never done before but something you will never regret or forget!

    Statistics Canada2019-02-27
  8. "Never an issue with pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada part-time

    Pros

    Well structured. Great system in place.

    Cons

    None to speak of, great system

    Statistics Canada2019-02-22
  9. "Flexible, work varies depending on your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruit Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large institution producing statistics covering a very broad scope, meaning there's work for all types of interests. Flexible work schedule. The type of work you do and the environment can vary wildly depending on your division and team. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Can be slow to adopt new technology because of bureaucracy and security standards.

    Statistics Canada2019-01-19
  10. "Recruit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruit Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Hard to move up. At the same time, people with a similar job level at Statscan does much more than other federal agencies.

    Statistics Canada2018-10-10
Found 157 reviews