Statistics Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Statistics Canada Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada Chief Statistician Anil Arora
Anil Arora
10 Ratings
  1. "Easy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Management doesn't ask for too much.

    Cons

    Experience depends on group and file. Some teams are dynamic and progressive others are more stagnant. Job can be slow depending on the file. Pay grades are set lower when compared to other Federal Government institutions. Most people stall out at an intermediate position. Best to work there for a few years and move one. Most processes are very internal and not useful outside of StatCan.

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive.

    Statistics Canada2020-01-14
  2. "A Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Census Enumerator in Collingwood, ON

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a good team of enumerators, and the supervisor was good too. You somewhat choose your hours of work with this job, although those hours need to align with when you expect people to be home to be enumerated. Paid training is provided before you begin enumerating.

    Cons

    There were fewer hours of work than expected / advertised. Perhaps some other locations had plenty of hours, since it would be difficult to predict in advance how many enumerators will be needed per city.

    Advice to Management

    Statistics Canada could learn more from each census, and update their processes accordingly. I'm sure they do that, but they could do more of it - some of their methods and practices didn't seem the most efficient.

    Statistics Canada2020-01-02
  3. "Trading hours for dollars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer Co-op in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okay-ish job for a student to get a foot in the door. The team I worked on was working on the cloud with the latest industry tech. Students get decent salary and have the option to bridge into a full-time role after graduation.

    Cons

    Boring and bureaucratic job. There was nobody there that I could call a mentor. Each team seemed to have different management styles and different processes. As a software developer I was hoping to work with statistical algorithms and machine learning, but the work I was doing was grunt work. I wouldn't take this job if I had to do it all over again; it's not worth relocating for this position. I felt like I was in the movie Office Space most of the time. No complementary coffee.

    Show More
    Statistics Canada2019-12-28
  4. "Good job for new graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Methodologists in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, nice people, not much workload

    Cons

    Not much to do sometimes, no bonus, bureaucracy

    Statistics Canada2019-12-27
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Data Dissemination 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Many divisions to experience different projects and expand knowledge.

    Cons

    Horrible parking. Alot of people in high positions are less skilled than ones in lower positions.

    Statistics Canada2019-12-12
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Officer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Fun working environment, good people to work with

    Cons

    None that I can think of, great people and organization

    Statistics Canada2019-12-02
  7. "Great recruitment program, not-so-great workplace politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Processor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Statistics Canada invests a lot into training and developing its employees (if you are an EC) - Interesting work - Overall, good workplace culture. People are generally passionate and very knowledgeable

    Cons

    - Bureaucratic - Getting promoted can be difficult, a lot of people spend their entire career there (without changing their mentality) - Navigating the politics can be frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Create a more supportive environment for talent that questions the status quo. I have witnessed/experienced situations where there was reprisal to some degree for (respectfully) challenging or disagreeing with management.

    Statistics Canada2019-11-06
  8. "Great job for university students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Census Enumerator in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -independence -self paced -no relocation (location of work depends on where you live)

    Cons

    -Hard to get a raise since the time for this job is only 4 months.

    Statistics Canada2019-11-01
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great you will learn a lot

    Cons

    Slow, slow approvals for using new technologies

    Statistics Canada2019-10-22
  10. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technician in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very flexible schedule. - Will work around your school schedule. - Great work culture

    Cons

    - Can be very disorganized.

    Statistics Canada2019-10-10
Found 157 reviews