Statistics Canada "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Statistics Canada Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada Chief Statistician Anil Arora
Anil Arora
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty flexible hours; my manager let me leave earlier as long as I'd make up the hours(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, great people, simple work(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can face difficult residents who oppose doing the census(in 12 reviews)

  • "Most jobs appear in Ottawa Canada(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work at Federal Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Data Scientist Co-op in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Great culture Nice people

    Cons

    Nothing but low compensation and location

    Statistics Canada2019-12-01
  2. "casual contract with fed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Junior Statistical Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    great team atmosphere, flexible hours, constructive feedback

    Cons

    90 day casual position only and cannot be renewed for another calendar year

    Statistics Canada2019-11-22
  3. "They don't seem to care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Analyst in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Statistics Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours are flexible and there is a lot of data, so a lot of opportunity to do good

    Cons

    Employees and mangers don't seem to be motivated

    Statistics Canada2019-09-18
  4. "Great organization, extremely knowledgeable, kind, and helpful supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Methodologists in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    - I got to do research and published an article - Flexible work hours

    Cons

    - Comparatively low pay because it's a government job - Ottawa might be boring to young adults.

    Statistics Canada2019-04-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Archaic and unfulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Production and Dissemination Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work hours. - Decent salary - although not on par with most other government jobs. - There are a few rare, niche positions/divisions with interesting work.

    Cons

    - Archaic mentality. The workflows and processes are years, if not decades behind their time. Everything is tailored to the "older" workers, who have been doing the same thing for decades, without any clear intent in modernizing processes. Blatant discrimination towards younger workers, who are handed all the garbage work while the older workers slack off and live in the 1990s. - Impossible to receive promotions..., or to work on new, fulfilling work. Everything is based on seniority, and should you want to undertake extra work, you WILL be seen as a nuisance who is disturbing the laziness of the archaic, monotonous and socially inept workers. - Work is absolutely not distributed based on workers' competencies. Managers barely have high school diplomas. Social science graduates work in economics fields. Economics graduates work in IT. - I guess that's a con, but the workplace - Tunney's Pasture - is in the middle of nowhere. There's no shops or restaurants that are close by, and need a good 15 minute walk to get to the decent stuff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop discriminating against the younger crowd. Stop protecting the lazy and incompetent workers. Invest more in motivating your employees by developing actual useful job positions, and stop living in the past.

    Statistics Canada2019-04-12
  6. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Statistics Canada

    Pros

    Great working environment (more like an academic environment)/Nice people/Great opportunities to self improvement/Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Not really an obvious Con

    Statistics Canada2018-09-19
  7. "Solid place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Data Analyst Intern in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Statistics Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pretty flexible hours; my manager let me leave earlier as long as I'd make up the hours. - Was given full autonomy in my project.

    Cons

    - No one in my team didn't really have any idea on what I was doing; so getting guidance when it came to my project was hard. - At the time I was there, I didn't have public internet access, but I heard things changed now

    Statistics Canada2018-02-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Ottawa, ON
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -reasonable pay -flexible working hours - Good start for new graduates with bachelor's degree

    Cons

    -Statcan is not a very good start for people with Master’s degree, comparing with other federal government departments as it’s recruitment program is not as good as other departments’. It also take longer time to promote to EC-05. Moreover, as a recruit, you are required to take some boring and useless courses. I recommend people with Master’s degree to applied other federal government departments. -located in... Ottawa

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cancel those useless and boring mandatory courses for recruits.

    Statistics Canada2018-02-19
  9. "Census Enumerator - 2016"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Census Enumerator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Statistics Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible work hours -good rate of pay

    Cons

    -work becomes very difficult near the end

    Statistics Canada2018-02-01
  10. "Laid-back, friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Systems Development Programmer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Statistics Canada for more than a year

    Pros

    No hard deadlines Workplace is very friendly and stress-free No cubicles Lots of opportunities to work part-time after co-op and to work full-time (called branching) after graduation Flexible hours

    Cons

    Outdated technology Fixing software and technical issues often takes a while No vacation/sick time for students

    Statistics Canada2017-12-10
Found 32 reviews