Statistics Canada "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Statistics Canada Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Statistics Canada CEO Anil Arora
Anil Arora
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty flexible hours; my manager let me leave earlier as long as I'd make up the hours(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, great people, simple work(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can face difficult residents who oppose doing the census(in 12 reviews)

  • "Most jobs appear in Ottawa Canada(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Officer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Fun working environment, good people to work with

    Cons

    None that I can think of, great people and organization

    Statistics Canada2019-12-02
  2. "Pleasant work environment but slow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. Friendly people. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, too bureaucratic.

    Statistics Canada2019-06-02
  3. "Senior Interviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment for me

    Cons

    Low pay, overworked at times

    Statistics Canada2019-04-28
  4. "Statistics Canada Census Contract Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada

    Pros

    Great work environment, great people, simple work.

    Cons

    Long transport times, work became very tedious very fast (transcription for 2 months, 5 days/week).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, the work environment was incredible.

    Statistics Canada2019-04-11
  5. "working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time

    Pros

    supportive working environment. interesting work. lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    cafeteria lacks variety and there are not too many healthy choices

    Statistics Canada2019-02-28
  6. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Statistics Canada

    Pros

    Great working environment (more like an academic environment)/Nice people/Great opportunities to self improvement/Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Not really an obvious Con

    Statistics Canada2018-09-19
  7. "2016 Census Contract Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Statistics Canada for more than a year

    Pros

    Short term contract that helped to hone communication skills and basic knowledge of working for federal government. Great work environment. The staff really supported each other and worked as a team.

    Cons

    A little bit unorganized as many staff were brought in as contract workers for the census project with a very short timeline to learn processes before the census.

    Statistics Canada2018-09-18
  8. "Telephone Interviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Statistics Canada

    Pros

    Diverse work environment, flexible work schedule

    Cons

    limited learning opportunity & career growth

    Statistics Canada2018-05-08
  9. "Great organization to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Statistics Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good work environment technology wise. Management is supportive for using newer technologies.

    Cons

    Promotions are not really performance based. too much emphasis on bilingualism.

    Advice to Management

    More performance based promotions would be very much appreciated.

    Statistics Canada2018-04-23
  10. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Statistics Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, secure, safe

    Cons

    Heavy tax, not much overtime

    Statistics Canada2018-03-07
Found 29 reviews