Steel River Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Steel River Marketing Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Steel River Marketing CEO John Warren (no image)
John Warren
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "I’ve been working at Steel River Marketing for 6 months(in 10 reviews)

  • "Steel River Marketing is the place to work if you are looking for a great opportunity and career growth(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pyramid SCHEME (not scam) --- Yes, its a scheme(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "New Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Steel River Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love everything about the job. The relationships with the managers and co workers is one of a kind. We all come from different walks of life but understand with this business provides a opportunity like no other. The job requires hard work but with the team nights it allows us to become laid back and get to know more about the business and the management team. I went to school for business and didn’t finish but... with this job it gave me the opportunity to finish pursuing what I went to school for and make money at the same time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Having to be patient with that don’t understand the business model.

    Steel River Marketing2019-03-11

    Steel River Marketing Response

    March 11, 2019owner

    Thank you for 5 star review!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "People Helping People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steel River Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I only worked at Steel River Marketing for a short time, but I learned a lot. While this type of work is not for everyone, the team they have is exceptional in terms of teaching motivation, positivity, persistence, and confidence through their training process. I really appreciate the experience I had with this company and the skills they have passed on to me.

    Cons

    It was not 100% clear to me what I would be doing in the field when I applied and interviewed

    Steel River Marketing2019-06-15

    Steel River Marketing Response

    June 24, 2019owner

    Thank you for the review! We want everyone to gain something from us, even if it is not a long term career there are so many benefits to having trained within our program!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Humongous waste of time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - “Event Marketer” in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steel River Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like selling cable services in sams club I guess this could be a pro.

    Cons

    Boring. Boring. Boring. The job description online was a giant and deceptive lie. The job title was event marketer and nowhere did any marketing come into play. All the job was selling useless cable subscriptions in Sams club. Who want to do that? The interview was lies after lies. The only good thing that came out of this was knowing the fact that I will never want to work here.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and straight up with the job description, don’t lie.

    Steel River Marketing2019-07-01

    Steel River Marketing Response

    July 3, 2019owner

    Sorry your experience with Steel River was negative. We try to be pretty upbeat!! The office meeting usually is fun with music going & the field locations are fast paced working with people! You should never have a down moment. I would appreciate if you could reach out to our ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company For Hardworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Green Tree, Allegheny, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steel River Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to earn as much money as you work for! There are great people who want to see you succeed here! If your hungry and want to get after it you will be successful. Awesome opportunity for advancement!

    Cons

    Nothing... I loved my time at Steel River Marketing. It helped me become successful!

    Advice to Management

    Keep working hard! You're have great recruiters as well!

    Steel River Marketing2019-06-05

    Steel River Marketing Response

    June 6, 2019owner

    Thank you for the 5 stars!! Keep it up :)

  5. Helpful (4)

    "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steel River Marketing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Morning Atmo was always enjoyable and your coworkers are really young and full of energy. The receptionist is pretty cute.

    Cons

    There is no transparency to what an employee would be doing until they are hired. The manager comes off as a nice and caring guy, but in reality he only cares about himself and will mask his intentions as if he’s trying to set you up for the future. The business model is justified as something else, but in reality it’s a pyramid scheme. Even though the promotion may be appealing, the products or services you push... upon innocent Sam’s Club members will eventually cause damage to their pockets when rates sky rocket after a certain period. You never know what your schedule is in until the morning meeting is over. It’s definitely a shady company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and provide your employees with a reimbursement for all the gas they waste driving to and from the office or to the clubs. Don’t come off as a marketing firm when in reality you do sales for other companies. Stop promoting that you do business with top Fortune 500 companies as a selling point to potential hirees.

    Steel River Marketing2019-06-11

    Steel River Marketing Response

    June 12, 2019owner

    Hello and thank you for the review. We are rather transparent with our interview process. We conduct multiple interviews, and upon leaving the 2nd one you get a packet with information on our clients, our business model, promotion structure, and hours of operation. We do in fact ...

    Show More
  6. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steel River Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management and admin team are great, great atmosphere, fun enviroment!

    Cons

    Have to work hard !

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work you guys are headed in the right direction !

    Steel River Marketing2019-04-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steel River Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were no pros at all

    Cons

    Door to door salesman scam

    Steel River Marketing2019-05-15

    Steel River Marketing Response

    May 22, 2019owner

    Hey there. We do absolutely no door to door sales. Pretty sure you have the wrong company.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steel River Marketing

    Pros

    They’ll definitely hire you, no matter who you are

    Cons

    Look at all the reviews...this is a complete scam. The “interview” process should have been a red flag, as they asked me ONE question. They don’t care who they hire, as long as you’re gullible. Don’t label a position as a marketing communications job, when it’s a SALES job. They are so shady and use words like that they represent “Fortune 500 companies,” no...you sell their products. In Walmart. That’s not... impressive. Stay away.

    Show More
    Steel River Marketing2019-05-05

    Steel River Marketing Response

    May 6, 2019owner

    Hi and thank you for the review. We do work with Fortune 500 companies, in fact 5 of our clients made it on the 2018 Fortune 500 companies list (http://fortune.com/fortune500/list/ for reference). I am unsure, if you did work here because we DO NOT work within Walmarts, and have not ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Awful — couldn’t think of a worse place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Steel River Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The turn around time is great

    Cons

    It’s a pyramid scheme dressed well. Save your time and find something else

    Steel River Marketing2019-05-05

    Steel River Marketing Response

    May 13, 2019owner

    Hi and thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review. I would like more details on this situation, please reach out to HR@steelrivermarketing.com with further details.

  10. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Steel River Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Steel River Marketing is the place to work if you are looking for a great opportunity and career growth ! There's unlimited potential here. There's opportunity for advancement in the company as well as growth as an individual.

    Cons

    There's no downside to working for this company .

    Advice to Management

    Keep bringing great people into our company !

    Steel River Marketing2019-03-27
Found 60 reviews