SteelHouse Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
SteelHouse President & CEO Mark Douglas
Mark Douglas
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If anything, SteelHouse is going through some growing pains due to its tremendous success(in 4 reviews)

  • " long hours (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Startup/Constantly Changing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time

    Pros

    Coming to SteelHouse was one of the best professional decisions I've ever made. This place allows you to grow and gives you the agency to pave your own path. The executive team is approachable and it always feels like they're readily available if you need help/and or have questions. I think the culture (ability to work from home, no offices/open work space, unlimited vacation) sets the tone for people to be comfortable in their workplace and empowers people to take ownership/feel in control of their work.

    Cons

    With any startup, things are constantly changing/shifting. This can be frustrating at times when you feel like you sometimes have to start from scratch on projects.

    SteelHouse2020-01-14
  2. "Prime work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Vacation stipend, unlimited PTO, great work life balance, reproductive health benefits. Plenty of "tech perks": stocked kitchen, culture classes, booze, cool building, parking. -Everyone is super nice. once you break past some team's clique aspect (pretty common for LA) -Everyone is super respectful as far as your personal/work time. -Depending on manager/dept, the ability to work from anywhere. -I have never been spoken down to or felt like managers/execs were more important than me. Everyone seems on an even playing field and respects your opinion and ideas which is great for professional growth. -People genuinely care about one another as people.

    Cons

    -A lot of people think their things are SUPER urgent/important, when that may not always be the case. (literally every company i've worked for though) -Some people hired are still very green, requiring more hand holding from management. -Sometimes very cliquey between teams, which diminishes with time.

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2020-01-10
  3. "Unbelievable benefits package"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SteelHouse

    Pros

    There are a ton of great people who work at SteelHouse, and there’s no mistaking why they are consistently ranked as one of the best places to work in LA: their benefits packages are so damn good. Flexible work schedule, expansive healthcare options (really top shelf, best I’ve had in 2 decades of experience), competitive pay, Friday breakfast burritos, summer BBQ’s, lots of amazing team focused events, great location and facilities, an extra day off every month, etc. Really fantastic. They have the makings of a great product, but can’t stay focused long enough to really make it dangerously good.

    Cons

    The leadership has lots of holes. Most are good people, everyone is intelligent, but was shocked at all of the political power maneuvering. Week to week priorities changed, and without solid (and/or well-communicated) reasons.

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2020-01-20
  4. "a challenging environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined SteelHouse in 2015 after starting my career at a fortune 100 company, and quickly realized that the environment here has a wide range of opportunities and challenges. At its core, SteelHouse is a startup, which means that for those who are able to ride the rollercoaster... you'll reap the benefits in your career. I have never been held to a higher standard or expected to learn and produce as quickly as I have at SteelHouse, but that's part of the appeal for me. To be a part of something where what I do actually matters. Perks are great, pay is competitive, benefits are phenomenal, and the culture is extremely tight.

    Cons

    We pivot frequently and fast, and in doing so, have amazing highs and tense lows. For those that need defined structure and stability, we lack that at times, and the environment is more conducive to individuals who are able to evolve within the framework of the system here. It's hard to develop momentum at the rate that we innovate or shift our focus, and from a sales perspective, that means who we were the last time we talk to a prospect is different than who we are today.

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty much a mess"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SteelHouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive Pay - Good commuting location in Culver City, parking

    Cons

    - Terrible management and process - Some managers are great while some cannot be trusted - People will take credit for your work. - Abandoned initiatives littered throughout. - Really ugly legacy code. - CEO is awful

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2019-11-18
  6. "Great Work-Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work-life balance at SteelHouse and the work culture really is the best thing about being here. The autonomy is great, we're trusted to do our jobs and do it well, and the rest is up to us. Flexible work-from-home policy and vacation stipend are some of the best perks, amongst others. I'm lucky enough to be on a team that's very smart and supportive of each other--every day I feel excited to be part of this group and see the good work everyone is doing.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    SteelHouse2019-10-17
  7. "Amazing Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people/colleagues Friendly work environment Fully stocked kitchen High earning potential Flexible work-from-home policy Unlimited vacation Vacation Stipend

    Cons

    The industry is challenging to learn if you don't come with an AdTech background.

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2019-10-08
  8. "My most exciting, engaging and fulfilling career experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Marketing Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SteelHouse has built a fun, collaborative and caring culture which stands out even from the first impression! People are treated with utmost respect and trust at one of the fast-growing cutting-edge technology companies. If you would like to be treated this way, you are ambitious, and care about quality of your work, you will be very happy about the experience of being part of SteelHouse team. Working as a professional and experienced business consultant for more than ten years at some of decent organizations, I had reached to a point to say goodbye to the corporate jobs world and start something on my own. The main driver for that decision was how I was feeling about my previous professional experiences. One of the signs for me is how do I feel on Sunday evenings thinking about showing up at work on Monday mornings. I used to suffer and have an anxiety on almost any Sunday evening for a very long time, thinking about workplace. Since I joined SteelHouse, not only the Sunday evenings anxieties are gone, but when I wake up every single day, I am so excited and looking forward to getting to the office, doing what I love and knowing that my teammates got my back. SteelHouse experience has fixed a major challenge in my professional career life! Now, I know it is still possible to be part of a larger team, learn and grow in the area that I love and feel fully supported by my teammates and the company’s leadership. The company enjoys a very healthy leadership who care about people. They have successfully created an environment where you literary feel you are at your home and belong to there!

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Unfortunate"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SteelHouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, Good benefits, Good People (for the most part)

    Cons

    So many talented people are being jerked around and wasting their time as the management team seems to chase acquisition and embark on half-baked ideas. Ultimately it's a toxic 'culture' with questionable management. A lot of favoritism and a CEO who's wearing too many hats and doesn't trust anyone enough to share them. It's really unfortunate, it could have been great.

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2019-06-25
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Time to step aside"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SteelHouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, $2k vacation stipend, unlimited vacay, new tech, cool & nice people. Stocked fridge.

    Cons

    CEO needs to step back and let others lead the teams. He is so unfocused & off on tangents, it's hurting the business. Morale is dropping. He needs to take off his engineering hat, and start acting like a CEO. Many of the projects/products are half baked, and need many iterations because due diligence first time around wasn't done.

    Continue reading
    SteelHouse2019-05-16
Found 84 reviews