Stein Mart Customer Service Lead Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Customer Service Lead Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
6%
Recommend to a Friend
7%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart Chief Executive Officer Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wheaton IL Location Great to Work At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead in Wheaton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management team, flexible hours, majority of staff works really well together, great discount

    Cons

    Sometimes heavy lifting, sometimes slobby customer messes to clean up

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive and up front with staff.

    Stein Mart2017-06-22
  2. "No Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, great full time benefits, and paid holidays

    Cons

    Overwhelming, expectations for meeting goals and sales completely unrealistic and very stressful

    Stein Mart2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Don't waste your time in Madison, WI. Horrible work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Lead in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discount, discount, discount, discount and discount. (Had to list 5 pros)

    Cons

    Very unfair management. Has favorites, no managerial skills. The company as a whole only cares about how many credit cards you sell, not the quality of customer service. No promoting within company. Just a cruddy retail job. Do not recommend working in the Madison, WI store. Upper management does not care. Store is barely keeping open, so no-one cares.

    Advice to Management

    Get some manager skills. Do not play favorites and listen to associates concerns not just what you say.

    Stein Mart2018-04-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM LEADER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Lead in Peachtree City, GA

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, flexible work schedules, the team is very friendly.

    Cons

    My Job duties exceed my pay to the level of a MANAGER.

    Advice to Management

    In order to be a smart professional you need to retain and value the HARD WORKERS by paying them what they are worth.

    Stein Mart2017-12-03
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Stein Mart great, boss not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been around Stein Mart for 18 years due to family bein employees as well, it's a great supportive company, the COMPANY stands for more than meets the eye. They truly believe customers come first and that's something I believed as well. They have nice prices, and even better discounts.

    Cons

    As I said, the COMPANY is great, but the "manager" I worked under, not that great. The manager I worked under always spoke in a very degrading tone, she always spoke down to people, even "growled" if you will when she was annoyed or stressed. Customers have complained multiple times about her and said she is rude to the associates, and that she's very unprofessional and let's certain people do whatever they want. I would get such anxiety before having to ask her a question, or make a request, I'd literally get sick. In the three years I was there I got 2 raised, 2 promotions....from cashier, to cash audit, to lead, and then our district manager created a position and my "boss" never followed through. As I said I love and stand by Stein mart, but they have at least one manager who is not a representation of what Stein Mart stands for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the store manager you are a passive aggressive bully who allows those who do nothing to get by and those who busy their butt oh you can say stuff to them, and snap at them. keep on til you've pushed every good person out of your store. I feel bad for you, bc you are so insecure that's how you have to treat your associates.

    Stein Mart2017-10-05
  6. "Trains all new cashiers for POS system and credit card enrollment/sales. Handles all customer service needs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Lead in Destin, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Credit card incentive. Learn something new everyday. Finds new and creative ways to handle new or arising situations on a day to day basis.

    Cons

    Mostly the turnover rate. Mostly because of the tourist location that is our city over summer time is crazy turnover because of how much more money there is in the service industry.

    Advice to Management

    Always recognize your employees.

    Stein Mart2017-04-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Technology Impaired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount is generous. Co workers are hard working.

    Cons

    Store managers usually have no idea how t manage staff. Many manage by intimidation & threats. Pay is low & work is physically demanding. Schedule changes weekly making it difficult to make personal plans. No benefits for part timers. Technology is very outdated making cashier's job especially problematic. Management is more concerned with signing customers up for credit cards than anything else.

    Advice to Management

    Management should receive training in how to manage & motivate staff. More consideration for needs of employees. Satisfied employees will work harder for the store.

    Stein Mart2017-04-25
  8. "need more customer service associates."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time

    Pros

    Most of the coworkers are good to work with. Good with time off requests.

    Cons

    No respect from store manager, short of associates.

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to what is going on.

    Stein Mart2016-09-27
  9. "CSL at stein mart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy and flexible and clean

    Cons

    Annoying people, annoying customers... yeah

    Advice to Management

    They are decent

    Stein Mart2015-12-04
  10. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Customer Service Lead 

    I worked at Stein Mart

    Pros

    Good hours, easy laid back job. Great management.

    Cons

    Raises were not that great.

    Stein Mart2015-04-25
Found 17 reviews