Stein Mart Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart Chief Executive Officer Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Louisville, KY

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All the employees treat each other like family. They genuinely care about you and the management team will work with you on hours you need.

    Cons

    I honestly can not think of one. I guess if I had to put something here is around Holidays the store gets CRAZY busy & you end up working your butt off and do not make any extra money doing it.

    Advice to Management

    Give more positive feedback! You can never give enough positive feedback. It only motivates employees.

    Stein Mart2018-03-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I've never hated a job more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have a manager that cares about you it's not too terrible, but otherwise it's debilitating.

    Cons

    Literally everything. Pay is bad. Pushing credit cards sucks and you're literally never left alone about it. Also, almost half the year is blacked out for requests off so get ready to sell your soul.

    Advice to Management

    Aggravating your employees about credit cards constantly won't magically make the customers want them. Being a decent human being might inspire a team though.

    Stein Mart2019-10-10
  3. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are great and management supportive

    Cons

    better pay less pressure and more staff meetings

    Advice to Management

    Great

    Stein Mart2019-08-26
  4. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time

    Pros

    The people are great there

    Cons

    Nothing I love working there

    Advice to Management

    Nothing at all I'm good with managers

    Stein Mart2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Stein Mart great, boss not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been around Stein Mart for 18 years due to family bein employees as well, it's a great supportive company, the COMPANY stands for more than meets the eye. They truly believe customers come first and that's something I believed as well. They have nice prices, and even better discounts.

    Cons

    As I said, the COMPANY is great, but the "manager" I worked under, not that great. The manager I worked under always spoke in a very degrading tone, she always spoke down to people, even "growled" if you will when she was annoyed or stressed. Customers have complained multiple times about her and said she is rude to the associates, and that she's very unprofessional and let's certain people do whatever they want. I would get such anxiety before having to ask her a question, or make a request, I'd literally get sick. In the three years I was there I got 2 raised, 2 promotions....from cashier, to cash audit, to lead, and then our district manager created a position and my "boss" never followed through. As I said I love and stand by Stein mart, but they have at least one manager who is not a representation of what Stein Mart stands for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the store manager you are a passive aggressive bully who allows those who do nothing to get by and those who busy their butt oh you can say stuff to them, and snap at them. keep on til you've pushed every good person out of your store. I feel bad for you, bc you are so insecure that's how you have to treat your associates.

    Stein Mart2017-10-05
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Retail Customer Services Representative in San Bernardino, CA

    I worked at Stein Mart for more than a year

    Pros

    Providing customer care. Promote store credit card Promote store reward card

    Cons

    A great store to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the sales associates

    Stein Mart2016-05-05
  7. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Rancho Mirage, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time

    Pros

    great location, fast paced, constantly learning,.

    Cons

    on your feet all day

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great job!

    Stein Mart2016-03-28
  8. "Loving, caring family with favorable core values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loving caring employer. Vacation, insurance, great benefits. A lot of room for advancement.

    Cons

    Inexperienced management that needs to learn how to treat ppl with decency.

    Stein Mart2015-10-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Family atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -rewards for doing well -management made an effort to value employees -discount -new influx of trendy clothes -In 2012 the company finally got rid of the magazines subscriptions we once had to solicit. -above other retail store pay

    Cons

    -Ocassional drama -One manager treated some customers different than others -

    Advice to Management

    -If you are not currently rewarding your employees for the hardwork they do ensure that you begin doing that, and at a more competitive rate. The associates shouldn't have set goals where the managers(including district) get financially rewarded for associates reaching goals; while associates just make regular pay.

    Stein Mart2015-03-12
Found 9 reviews