Stein Mart Merchandise Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Merchandising Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart Chief Executive Officer Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
8 Ratings
  1. "Excellent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in La Mirada, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People here are like family. Good hours, with good benefits (even for part time employees). It's a lot of fun to come in merchandising every day

    Cons

    No cons no cons no cons no cons no cons no cons no cons no cons no cons no cons

    Stein Mart2016-10-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, most times

    Cons

    You Work hard, no raises

    Advice to Management

    Prepare to work hard

    Stein Mart2019-11-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stein mart is a decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Manager in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, good work environment

    Cons

    Not interested in internal growth

    Stein Mart2019-11-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Personal managerial experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer satisfaction, flexible schedule, great policies

    Cons

    Lack of staff in every department

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people for each of the departments, for customer service purposes, and loss prevention purposes as well.

    Stein Mart2019-10-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount is only good thing

    Cons

    Management is inefficient and Katy. They target you when they don’t like you and you are doomed once that happens

    Stein Mart2019-10-04
  7. "I live what I do but it can be stressful at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, advancement opportunities for those willing to earn it

    Cons

    Corporate, occasional stress, and pay

    Stein Mart2019-08-05
  8. "good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in South Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nase, please two have contact with very intelligent people and managers

    Cons

    hiring many senior employees with no technology experience and this reflects the jobs

    Advice to Management

    give the chance to the yang people to grow-up in the company

    Stein Mart2019-07-21
  9. "Excellent Shopping Environment with Professional Customer Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in Florence, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit, great culture, high standard, professional customer services, and discount

    Cons

    Lack of working hours for the employees.

    Advice to Management

    More hour to the employees.

    Stein Mart2019-03-30
  10. "Merchandise Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Merchandise Manager 

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice discount, friendly customers and employees.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for Mgrs and as salaried employee you do not get overtime. Expect to work at least 50 hours up to 60 hours a week, sometimes more. Way too much merchandise is forced to the floor resulting in overstocked and messy racks customers can't look through.

    Stein Mart2019-02-18
  11. Helpful (2)

    "It's a Great Day at Stein Mart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Although it varies greatly by store, my store's work environment is the healthiest and most positive work culture I've EVER been a part of. My Store Manager is ***hands-down*** the best in the business. She is a natural born teacher/leader and is the most compassionate woman I have ever met. But not so compassionate that she's a pushover. She has found the perfect balance of authority and compassion. (A balance that many managers never find) Apart from her being my boss, she is one of my favorite people. Just because I have so much respect for her and how she runs her store. I said it once and I'll say it again, she is the best in the bid-ness.

    Show More

    Cons

    Stein Mart is PAINFULLY old fashion. You should see the ticket printer in every store, it's about the size of a small dog crate and weighs about 50 pounds. (Not even exaggerating) It's only function is to print a tiny little ticket. There is muuuuuch more efficient and sophisticated and cheaper technology out there that Steinmart doesn't look into or invest in. And don't even get me started on the scanners or PPT's. They were new and cutting edge in 2002. Manufactured in 2003. (I've done my research because I can't believe I use this brick every day) So that's 15 years. Do you know how much technology has changed in 15 years? A LOT. We've come a long way. Steinmart has not. When I was doing my research about these dinosaur scanners, I discovered that you could buy one online for 50-100 dollars. YET, my assistant manager told me the other day that if we have to request a new scanner for the store, the store is charged $1,300. Now that isn't right. For $1,300, we could buy an entire new fleet of iPod touch scanners. Like the one's most other retailers use now. The battery lasts longer, it's easier to see, the functionality has much more potential, it's a much quicker operating system than what was available in 2003, the screen is brighter, the charging doesn't take as long, it's about 1/4th of the size and weight of what we use now, easier to carry around the store, etc etc etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care for your people. Invest in them. Invest in more efficient technology. Things will get done faster if you do this, work loads will be lighter and go faster if we could have tools that are consistent with the decade we're currently in. My main problem with the scanners is that the battery dies halfway through my markdowns. Then I'm left with waiting 2 hours for my scanner to charge, when that is time that I could have finished my work. Also, I can't staff accordingly when we have markdowns or big sales, because we don't have enough scanners. This means, markdowns end up taking 2-4 days of passing the charged scanner around, when everything could have been done in a single shift if we had the necessary resources.

    Show More
    Stein Mart2018-09-11
Found 50 reviews