Stein Mart Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
35%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart Chief Executive Officer Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
4 Ratings
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time

    Pros

    Fun, Enjoyable, Great co-workers.

    Cons

    Very poor pay, Under appreciated for the work that we do, very demanding. should have better incentives for employees

    Stein Mart2016-02-28
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked around my school hours.

    Cons

    Micro managing, uncertain management, terrible customers.

    Stein Mart2019-12-17
  3. "Typical retail position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time

    Pros

    Easy to adjust to job duties. Helpful coworkers.

    Cons

    A lot of older staff members, which is mostly a good thing, but sometimes you deal with major age gaps if you’re a millennial

    Stein Mart2019-10-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time

    Pros

    I have nothing to say

    Cons

    Does not pay enough for their employees

    Stein Mart2019-09-19
  5. "Credit card quota made work frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier in Tyler, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with my school schedule, did not close very late

    Cons

    the constant push to open credit card accounts, the fact that the company is slowing disappearing due to the new generation of shopping, therefore the heavy reliance of credit cards

    Advice to Management

    use another approach to keep company in business, not credit cards. causes so much stress on minimum wage employees who dread going to work because people hate being bothered with the push to get an account started.

    Stein Mart2019-07-28
  6. "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Job Some employees are nice

    Cons

    Don't honor requested schedules...overbooked me for hours I couldn't work Pay is minimal and little room for upward mobility

    Stein Mart2019-02-15
  7. "Working at stein mart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Stafford, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get discounts on stuff.

    Cons

    You have to clean the restroom as an employee

    Advice to Management

    Hire cleaning people

    Stein Mart2019-01-28
  8. "A general negative experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    25% discount. there are flexible schedules

    Cons

    There is no full time to anyone except General and Assistant manager, everyone else is capped at 29 hours a week including department managers.

    Advice to Management

    Actually promote from within the company

    Stein Mart2018-10-23
  9. "I like it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    convenient, respected, good hours, friendly coworkers and customers

    Cons

    the intense push for credit cards

    Stein Mart2018-03-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The company doesn't care about it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Johnson City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Often has benefits most retail jobs don't offer. Nice employee discounts.

    Cons

    The manager at this particular store didn't assess employees based on work ethic so often times, people would get promoted within weeks and quit, while other employees that were more reliable never received any accolades or promotions. Often times the employees of color were the lowest paid and never in any management positions. The manager had been complained on many times, but because she was a boon for the company financially, the complaints often fell on deaf ears. There is an extremely high turnover rate at this particular store.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think it's beneficial to a company to investigate employee complaints. At the end of the day, it can eventually effect you monetarily so remove the bad seeds as soon as possible.

    Stein Mart2017-09-27
Found 18 reviews