Stein Mart Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 749 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart CEO Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the intense push for credit cards(in 73 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay for Mgrs and as salaried employee you do not get overtime(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Louisville, KY

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All the employees treat each other like family. They genuinely care about you and the management team will work with you on hours you need.

    Cons

    I honestly can not think of one. I guess if I had to put something here is around Holidays the store gets CRAZY busy & you end up working your butt off and do not make any extra money doing it.

    Advice to Management

    Give more positive feedback! You can never give enough positive feedback. It only motivates employees.

    Stein Mart2018-03-30
  2. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Steinmart for 3 yrs. The people I worked with were wonderful. I liked my Manager very much and all of the supervisors were terrific too! I liked coming into work everyday.

    Cons

    You don't get offered benefits until you've been there a while. The benefits are good. You get Medical, Dental, Vision etc.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Stein Mart2019-08-27
  3. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are great and management supportive

    Cons

    better pay less pressure and more staff meetings

    Advice to Management

    Great

    Stein Mart2019-08-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Former District Directors were great leaders.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations of credit card enrollment and floor sets, with little to no payroll to support.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep daily floor standards and encourage your associates. They are underpaid for all of the tasks that they are asked to execute.

    Stein Mart2019-09-02
  5. "Asset Protection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work.

    Cons

    Needs updating to newer systems and onboarding.

    Stein Mart2019-08-09
  6. "I live what I do but it can be stressful at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, advancement opportunities for those willing to earn it

    Cons

    Corporate, occasional stress, and pay

    Stein Mart2019-08-05
  7. "Credit card quota made work frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier in Tyler, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with my school schedule, did not close very late

    Cons

    the constant push to open credit card accounts, the fact that the company is slowing disappearing due to the new generation of shopping, therefore the heavy reliance of credit cards

    Advice to Management

    use another approach to keep company in business, not credit cards. causes so much stress on minimum wage employees who dread going to work because people hate being bothered with the push to get an account started.

    Stein Mart2019-07-28
  8. "good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in South Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nase, please two have contact with very intelligent people and managers

    Cons

    hiring many senior employees with no technology experience and this reflects the jobs

    Advice to Management

    give the chance to the yang people to grow-up in the company

    Stein Mart2019-07-21
  9. "Working at Steinmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've met some great people and the nice discount

    Cons

    Little to no room for advancement, low pay, lack of compassion and professionalism from managers

    Advice to Management

    -treat employees like teammates since it is a team effort, don't treat them all like they're replaceable, it ruins motivation to actually want to work and you lose some great people with that mentality. - let employees know if they are not performing up to standard instead of not talking to them and avoiding the issue, some are not self aware on how they're performing without being told on how they're doing.

    Stein Mart2019-07-29
  10. "GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service/Sales in Chantilly, VA

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment for people interested in customer service.

    Cons

    Pay could be better.

    Stein Mart2019-07-12
Found 749 reviews