Stein Mart Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart Chief Executive Officer Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
93 Ratings
  1. "Fast paced and short staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Lead in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time for shift leads Friendly staff Decent hours

    Cons

    Not very flexible Mostly by yourself in the whole department They expect you to do everything including: cashier back up, tasking, customer service, clean the fitting rooms Not worth the pay

    Advice to Management

    Need more coverage for such a big store

    Stein Mart2020-01-14
  2. "Good benefits, good work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get paid once a week, discounts

    Cons

    sales days, pushing credit cards

    Stein Mart2020-01-10
  3. "Unnecessarily stressful, anxiety-inducing, and awful for a high schooler's part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Some of my coworkers were nasty and unwelcoming, but some taught me the ropes and helped me on my first day • Received 15% off on all merchandises, but other than that, there were no benefits

    Cons

    My boss Debbie was rude, inconsiderate, and hungry for drama. Part of the job was to sell credit cards, but she threatened the cashiers that if we did not sell a certain quota (3 a week), we would be fired. She rewarded workers randomly with plastic easter eggs that contained chocolates, coins, or chocolate coins, and belittled others who did not receive eggs. We were to line up in front of her desk and watch others get plastic eggs, while others were ridiculed for not selling enough credit cards or not receiving any customer feedback. It was humiliating for some. Hell, I saw coworkers cry on a weekly basis. Needless to say, workers dropped like flies. Do I also need to mention that working at retail is the equivalent to working in hell? Customers bark for management and raise their voices if their coupons don't work. There's no decency, yet they expect workers to lick the sole of their shoes. However, some customers were patient and considerate, which was most appreciated. Otherwise, customers were bitter and scary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and maybe more will stay for more than a month.

    Stein Mart2019-12-31
  4. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management will work with you on hours.

    Cons

    Very little information is given to employees about what is going on (incentives, store sales, other store opportunities, employee recognition, etc) corporately or store wide. Pay is very low, compared to work needed. Very high employee turn around.

    Stein Mart2019-12-29
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great group of people very hard-working

    Cons

    Stein Mart is a good company to work for but unfortunately with all the cutbacks every associate is required to do multiple jobs. Great group of people very hard work but.... There’s only so much one person can do!

    Advice to Management

    Advancement opportunity

    Stein Mart2019-12-24
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked around my school hours.

    Cons

    Micro managing, uncertain management, terrible customers.

    Stein Mart2019-12-17
  7. "No Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, great full time benefits, and paid holidays

    Cons

    Overwhelming, expectations for meeting goals and sales completely unrealistic and very stressful

    Stein Mart2019-12-05
  8. "Nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment. Kind people.

    Cons

    Wish the pay was better.

    Stein Mart2019-11-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, most times

    Cons

    You Work hard, no raises

    Advice to Management

    Prepare to work hard

    Stein Mart2019-11-16
  10. "Great Employer-Very Flexible with shifts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely flexible with shift times. Great management.

    Cons

    Sometimes they have quick turnover times with their hourly employees.

    Stein Mart2019-11-07
Found 773 reviews