Stein Mart Service Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Service Associate Reviews

Updated Dec 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart Chief Executive Officer Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Raises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the fellow employees and customers

    Cons

    We are voted the best department store and get 1% raise???? Really??? McDonalds and Target are giving their employees $1.00 raises to get to $10.00, at this point I won't make $10.00 for 25 years.

    Stein Mart2015-04-11
  2. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management will work with you on hours.

    Cons

    Very little information is given to employees about what is going on (incentives, store sales, other store opportunities, employee recognition, etc) corporately or store wide. Pay is very low, compared to work needed. Very high employee turn around.

    Stein Mart2019-12-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, flexible scheduling, discount

    Cons

    Not enough hours, not enough employees because the budget is tight

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money on frivolous things and invest in the employees

    Stein Mart2018-10-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on the Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Service Associate in Mandeville, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow Easy job

    Cons

    They are soley orientated on credit card sales even if it is impossible to get people into signing up High turnover rate for managers and employees

    Advice to Management

    To get rid or cut back on credit card requirements to cashiers because most customers do not want credit cards anymore especially, in a smaller town.

    Stein Mart2018-05-23
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Associate in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and not hard work, unless it was inventory tim.

    Cons

    It gets hot in the attic and you're on your feet all day.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Stein Mart2017-10-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Don't ever work at store 219 (Orland Park)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Associate in Orland Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I honestly can't think of any

    Cons

    Unfair pay between current employees and new hires. No room for advancement. FAVORITISM The store manager belittles you in front of fellow employees and customers

    Advice to Management

    Give everyone around the same pay if the are hired around the same time with similar experience. Stop playing favorites

    Stein Mart2017-04-27
  8. "Good employer to develop customer service experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart for more than a year

    Pros

    Immersed in a customer service environment

    Cons

    Lots of micromanagement and low pay (even after raise)

    Stein Mart2016-09-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Don't go here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours. No late nights or early mornings

    Cons

    Horrible work environment. Will not go near a store. Management does not back you up - usually-and corporate does not support managers on store policies. Never got breaks either for an 8 hr shift I would get one lunch. Sales floor would get breaks and lunches. I won't even shop here.

    Stein Mart2016-06-29
  10. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was an easy job. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Department managers never did any work on the floor. They also talked down on sales associates.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional and be aware of your tone when talking to employees.

    Stein Mart2016-06-03
  11. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Westlake, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of detail is placed on customer service at the register. Waiting in line very long never happens. Great selection of apparel and home merchandise.

    Cons

    Too many young females on the payroll.

    Stein Mart2016-03-31
Found 17 reviews