Stein Mart "credit cards" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Employee Reviews about "credit cards"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart CEO Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the intense push for credit cards(in 78 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay for Mgrs and as salaried employee you do not get overtime(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "credit cards"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Proper Retailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Store-by-store individuality, company-wide congruent objectives, applicable goals, good benefits.

    Cons

    Corporate ignorance, credit card sales goals need to underscore rather than outline sales objectives, Minimal to no employee incentive to exceed expectations.

    Advice to Management

    When an associate can increase department sales as well as credit card applications, they're a rare breed. Understand that. Reward that.

    Stein Mart2018-01-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    simple straight forward tasks friendly work environment

    Cons

    standing all day having to ask everyone customer if they'd like to sign up for a credit card

    Advice to Management

    stop trying to force us to get people signed up for credit cards

    Stein Mart2019-10-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "I've never hated a job more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have a manager that cares about you it's not too terrible, but otherwise it's debilitating.

    Cons

    Literally everything. Pay is bad. Pushing credit cards sucks and you're literally never left alone about it. Also, almost half the year is blacked out for requests off so get ready to sell your soul.

    Advice to Management

    Aggravating your employees about credit cards constantly won't magically make the customers want them. Being a decent human being might inspire a team though.

    Stein Mart2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Overall frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Former District Directors were great leaders.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations of credit card enrollment and floor sets, with little to no payroll to support.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep daily floor standards and encourage your associates. They are underpaid for all of the tasks that they are asked to execute.

    Stein Mart2019-09-02
  6. "Credit card quota made work frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier in Tyler, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with my school schedule, did not close very late

    Cons

    the constant push to open credit card accounts, the fact that the company is slowing disappearing due to the new generation of shopping, therefore the heavy reliance of credit cards

    Advice to Management

    use another approach to keep company in business, not credit cards. causes so much stress on minimum wage employees who dread going to work because people hate being bothered with the push to get an account started.

    Stein Mart2019-07-28
  7. "Great for Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sunrise, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned how to use the cash wrap and built relationships with regular customers. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    I was mainly used as a Cashier and my hours got cut when it slowed down due to not making enough credit card sales as my fellow colleagues. Clothes for women material tends to unthread.

    Advice to Management

    Employees can’t force customers to apply for credit cards if they don’t want it so, hours shouldn’t be based on you reaching individual goals. We’re supposed to be a team.

    Stein Mart2019-07-11
  8. "Warm bodies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Folsom, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commeraderie with coworkers. Discount on merchandise.

    Cons

    Have to fight for legal breaks. Low pay. Dog and pony show gets put on for upper management once every few months. You basically have to lie to customers to sell them credit cards.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to customers about the benefits of holding a credit card as, in the end, it makes them frustrated and angry.

    Stein Mart2019-05-06
  9. "Horrible!!! Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount is fair. Sometimes 35% off

    Cons

    You never back up their employees when we follow YOUR policy. You have a policy for a reason. Customers always get over and lie to corporate on the employees and they never believe. Sometimes the customer is never right. I believe Steinmart will be not be in business for in the next 30 years by how they treat their employees. And again no raises. I got paid too little for the amount of work I do. They only care... about credit cards. HOW ARE WE GOING TO GET CREDIT CARDS WHEN THERE ARE NO CUSTOMERS IN THE STORE?!?!?! We could never use that as an excuse. HIGHLY do not recommend. Glad I got out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to learn how to back up your employees and treat them right. The customer is not always right. You don’t appreciate your employees. If you treat them right they will treat your customers right.

    Stein Mart2019-03-02
  10. "SteinMart does not care about their employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount and being able to help people make decisions about their purchases.

    Cons

    You have to work hard with little pay. Management is always on you to GET CREDIT CARDS! That is more important to them than Customer Service!

    Advice to Management

    Do not show so much partiality and give the employees that deserve it appreciation!

    Stein Mart2019-02-01
  11. "Cashier/sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Covington, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We got paid weekly which is nice

    Cons

    Terrible management, your schedule is based on how many credit cards you get, manager drinks on the job and other employees do to

    Advice to Management

    Find better management

    Stein Mart2018-12-31
Found 78 reviews